焦點訪談

CDD Spotlight專訪Crestone Inc.的Thale Jarvis

2014-10-23
泰勒·賈維斯(Thale Jarvis)

人們有時將其稱為狩獵毒品。 它從早期發現開始,找到有趣的化合物庫並篩選出相關數據,然後進行大量的藥物化學,微生物學和生物化學表徵以及臨床前測試。 獲得IND候選人後,重點將擴展到包括過程化學和毒理學測試。 而這甚至還沒有考慮進行人體臨床試驗之前。 這是一個漫長的過程,但是令人費解。 您必須在樂觀與現實之間取得平衡。 這需要出色的團隊合作; 要取得成功,您的團隊必須在平等的條件下保持精明,堅韌和幸運。”

閱讀面試...

CDD Spotlight專訪viDA Therapeutics Inc.的Dale Cameron

2014-07-28
Dale_Cameron

“這是我職業生涯中的第一次,創造力和創新思維使混合和匹配許多不同的,不相關的工具得以完成他們原本不想要的事情,從而產生了對我們的研究計劃具有直接和積極的影響。 我必須承認,這完全是無法發表的工作,但是…我們自己的晶體結構最終會在程序的某個時候出現,並且與我們的模型的手工模型相比,我們非常接近,晶體結構得到了簡單驗證對於計算化學家來說,我們的模型非常令人滿意。”

閱讀面試...

CDD Spotlight專訪NIMH / NIH的Enrique Michelotti

2014-05-07
Enrique Linkedin照片

“我認為最大的影響是學術界的人們,他們不習慣數據庫,並且經過培訓和使用,他們開始意識到擁有一個永久性的中央存儲庫的功能是多麼強大,您可以在其中快速訪問數據並關聯數據庫。最明顯的模式。 我認為這是最重要的影響,因為它提供了這一新功能,甚至對那些不習慣數據庫的人也很有用。 它確實說明了易用性和整體設計 CDD Vault“。

閱讀面試...

CDD Spotlight專訪Paul Humphries,《重置療法》

2014-04-17
保羅·漢弗萊斯

“作為一家公司,我們所有人都必須具有表型藥物發現心態,這意味著我們必須為通過可調節生理終點的任何區室(肝臟,CNS等)起作用的任何靶標(或研究未知靶標)做好準備。對於任何疾病。 我不再是從事代謝疾病研究的基於靶點的藥物化學家,而是從事與疾病無關的晝夜節律調節器的表型藥物發現科學家。 這是我職業生涯中激動人心,富有挑戰性和巨大回報的部分,我樂於與Reset團隊合作,為這一新穎的科學領域中的藥物發現創造新的途徑。”

閱讀面試...

莫納什大學“ PAINS”濾波器的名譽教授喬納森·貝爾

2013-10-07
貝爾CDD

人們只是發現具有某些活性的化合物,並真正發布篩選結果,就好像它們是真正可優化的候選物。 而且這些東西可能是顛覆性的,而且看起來很真實,因此這些出版物被人們接受了,不幸的是那裡有很多噪音,很多污染,而這當然是我們在這裡努力要做的事情之一為了發布而發布某些內容,但是在進行優化以顯示這些內容絕對真實之後再發布。”

閱讀面試...

Mnemosyne&SystaMedic化學副總裁Robert Volkmann博士

2013-08-15
羅伯特·鮑勃·沃爾克曼

“您所做的就是設計出一種適用於像我這樣的人的產品。 它不僅對我有用,而且對印度的生物學家和CRO化學家也非常有用。 ……我認為這是理所當然的 CDD Vault 將工作,並且將按計劃工作。 因此,我想對我來說,對某種事物的價值的考驗是您無需考慮就可以使用它。”

閱讀面試...

NeurOp,Inc.藥物發現總監Scott Myers博士

2013-06-19
斯科特·邁爾斯CDD

“我很早就想起如果我對科學感興趣,該怎麼辦,但我對醫學不感興趣,可以這麼說,就像是一名醫生。 我讀了一些關於藥理學的描述,然後我意識到這聽起來很令人興奮,也符合我真正想做的事情。 那帶我去了藥房。 在藥學院,我真的意識到自己對這項研究更感興趣,於是我走上了研究之路……那是20年前。 從那時到現在(當我在NeurOp擔任這份工作時),NeurOp確實是我一直想要做的。 我認為這種體外藥理學水平和評估新型分子一直是我的主要興趣。”

閱讀面試...

David Matthews博士,Pathway Therapeutics,藥物發現與探索性開發副總裁

2012-10-10
大衛馬修斯

“所以我實際上是從物理學家開始的。 我的本科學位是物理學,在那段時間裡,我的本科導師是我在帝國理工學院攻讀學位的大衛·布洛教授。 他是X射線晶體學的開拓者之一,幾年前不幸去世,但我想說David肯定有助於培養我對生物學的興趣,而且當我攻讀本科學位時,我意識到這是一個我真的很想進入這個令我著迷的領域。 因此,我想那將是第一個轉折點,是做出從物理學家轉變為生物學家的決定。”

閱讀面試...

Eric Springman,博士,Celtaxsys CSO

2012-08-30
埃里克·斯普林曼

“科學的興衰是驚人的。 其中一些與您可以使用的工具有關,但是當我開始從事發現科學以及我的研究生工作和博士後研究時,尤其是先天免疫系統但嗜中性粒細胞,這就是我現在所居住的地方,所以這讓我非常著迷。 嗜中性粒細胞被認為是相當簡單的啞細胞,因為我們將其稱為終末分化細胞,這對其產生了很多影響,它們基本上不再像細胞認為那樣思考了,它們只是預先編程即可某事然後死。 真正的轉變是,在過去的20年中,即使是我們很長一段時間以來一直認為很原始的單元,實際上也不是,它們是非常複雜的單元。”

閱讀面試...

Spotlight Interviews

CDD Spotlight Interview with Thale Jarvis, Crestone Inc.

2014-10-23
Thale Jarvis

“People sometimes refer to it as drug hunting. It starts with early discovery, finding interesting compound libraries and screening for hits, followed by a lot of intensive medicinal chemistry, microbiological and biochemical characterization and preclinical testing. Once you have an IND candidate, the focus expands to include process chemistry and toxicology testing. And that’s before you even consider human clinical trials. It’s a long process, but terrifically engaging. You have to balance optimism with realism. It takes great teamwork; to succeed, your team has to be smart, tenacious and lucky in about equal measures.”

Read Interview...

CDD Spotlight Interview with Dale Cameron, viDA Therapeutics Inc.

2014-07-28
Dale_Cameron

“It was the first time in my career that I can remember, where creativity and outside the box thinking allowed for mixing and matching a lot of different and unrelated tools, to do something they weren’t originally intended, to generate a result that had immediate and positive effect on our research programs. Completely unpublishable work, I must admit, but…our own crystal structures would eventually come sometime later in the program, and when compared to our hand-made model of a model, we were very close, to the point where the crystal structure simply validated our model, which for a computational chemist, was intensely satisfying.”

Read Interview...

CDD Spotlight Interview with Enrique Michelotti, NIMH/NIH

2014-05-07
Enrique Linkedin photo

“I think the biggest impact was people in academia that were not used to databases and with the training and the use, they came to realize how powerful it is to have a permanent central repository, where you can access the data very fast and correlate the most salient patterns. I think that is the most important impact by providing this new capability that was even useful for people that were just not used to databases. It really speaks to the ease of use and overall design of CDD Vault.”

Read Interview...

CDD Spotlight Interview with Paul Humphries, Reset Therapeutics

2014-04-17
Paul_Humphries

“As a company we all have to have a phenotypic drug discovery mindset, which means that we have to be prepared for any target (or working on an unknown target) that acts through any compartment (liver, CNS, etc) that modulates physiological endpoints for any disease. I’m no longer a target-based medicinal chemist working on metabolic diseases, I’m a phenotypic drug discovery scientist working on circadian modulators that are disease agnostic. It’s an exciting, challenging and hugely rewarding part of my career and I am relishing working with the Reset team to create a new path for drug discovery in this novel scientific area.”

Read Interview...

Prof. Jonathan Baell of “PAINS” Filters Fame from Monash University

2013-10-07
Baell CDD

“People are just finding compounds with a bit of activity and really publishing screening hits as though they are genuine optimizable candidates. And these things can be subversive and they can look real, so these publications are kind of getting accepted and unfortunately there’s a lot of noise out there, a lot of pollution, and this is one of the things we certainly strive to do here is not to publish something for the sake of publishing, but to publish it after making optimizations showing these are absolutely real.”

Read Interview...

Dr. Robert Volkmann, Vice President of Chemistry – Mnemosyne & SystaMedic

2013-08-15
Robert Bob Volkmann

“What you’ve done is you’ve designed a product that works for people like me. It not only works great for me but also works great for our biologists and our CRO chemists in India. … I just take it for granted that CDD Vault will work and it will work as planned. So I guess for me the test for the value of something is that you can use it without ever thinking about it.”

Read Interview...

Scott Myers, Ph.D., Director of Drug Discovery – NeurOp, Inc.

2013-06-19
Scott Myers CDD

“I recall early on trying to understand what should I do if I’m interested in science, but I’m not interested in medicine so to speak, like, being a medical doctor. And I was reading some descriptions about pharmacology and then I realized that sounded pretty exciting and also fit what I really thought I would like to do. That took me to pharmacy school. And in pharmacy school, I really realized I was more interested in the research and so I went the research path… That was over 20 years ago. And between then and now (when I got this job at NeurOp) NeurOp was really what I always wanted to do. I think this level of the in-vitro pharmacology and evaluating novel molecules has always been my main interest.”

Read Interview...

Dr. David Matthews, Pathway Therapeutics, Vice President, Drug Discovery and Exploratory Development

2012-10-10
David Mathews

“So I actually started out life as a physicist. My undergraduate degree was physics and during that time my undergraduate tutor was Professor David Blow, who was at Imperial College where I did my degree. He was one of the pioneers of x-ray crystallography, sadly passed away a few years ago, but I would say that David was certainly instrumental in fostering my interest in biology and as I went through my undergraduate degree, I realized that this was a field that was fascinating to me, that I really wanted to get into. So I guess that would be the first turning point was in making the decision to mutate from a physicist into a biologist.”

Read Interview...

Eric Springman, Ph.D., Celtaxsys CSO

2012-08-30
Eric Springman

“It’s just amazing how science comes and goes in waves. Some of that is related to the tools that you have at your disposal, but when I started out in discovery science and my graduate work and post-doc, particularly the innate immune system, but neutrophils, and this is where I dwell right now, so it’s pretty fascinating to me how it’s coming around. Neutrophils were just viewed as pretty unsophisticated dumb cells in that they were, as we called them, terminally differentiated, which had a lot of implications to it, that they just basically couldn’t think anymore as cells think, they were just preprogrammed to do something and then die. And that really has turned around on its head to where even the cells that we have thought of for a long time now, for the last 20 years as primitive, are actually not at all, they’re very sophisticated cells.”

Read Interview...