巴里-布宁的药物发现行业综述 - 2022年3月2日

巴里-布宁,PhD 创始人兼首席执行官 协作药物发现公司

巴里-布宁,PhD
创始人兼首席执行官
协作式药物发现。

设计师抗生素? 药物发现与趋势报道说,麻省理工学院的研究人员已经想出了一个新的策略来创造潜在的抗生素。这篇文章的部分内容是这样写的。"麻省理工学院的研究人员正在吹捧一种新的方法来合成一种天然化合物,该化合物已显示出作为抗生素的潜力。化学家们用这种合成方法生产了himastatin,并且还设法生成了该分子的变体,其中一些显示了抗菌活性。这种化合物似乎通过破坏细胞膜来杀死细菌,它给研究人员带来了希望,他们可能设计出具有更强抗生素活性的其他分子"。

* * * *

利用人工智能帮助每年开始的14,000项肿瘤临床试验中的患者注册。 临床研究新闻》刊登了一篇关于一个针对肿瘤患者的人工智能临床试验注册计划的报道。文章说,它被称为 "100K奇点计划",是 "免费创建的,通过在72小时内将符合条件的患者与正确的试验联系起来,帮助消除这种差异,使注册更快、更便宜、更有效、有规模,并向所有癌症患者提供,无论其收入水平或地址如何。"文章指出了这样一个计划的价值。"在全球范围内,每年大约有14,000项肿瘤临床试验招募参与者;同时,每年有超过1800万人被诊断出患有癌症。然而,根据国家生物技术信息中心(NCBI)的数据,每20名成年癌症患者中只有1人,即不到5%的人参加了临床试验。"

* * * *

专利之外。制造Moderna的疫苗有900个步骤。在工作进展快于正式框架的一个例子中,Afrigen生物制品和疫苗公司已经开始制造Moderna公司的COVID-19疫苗,并希望在之后获得技术许可,正如本月《自然》杂志所分享的那样。在一篇相关的文章中,彭博社刊登了一篇题为"疫苗制造商必须帮助世界为下一次大流行做准备 "的评论文章。文章说,除了提供专利使用权,像Moderna、辉瑞和BioNTech这样的公司应该为南非创造新的mRNA疫苗的努力提供制造方面的专业知识。这篇文章的部分内容是"世卫组织将在五年内投资1亿美元,在南非建立一个mRNA中心,其专业知识以Afrigen生物制品和疫苗公司为中心。预计Afrigen公司将与其他渴望建立自己的疫苗基础设施的国家分享其开发的技术。虽然我们从事药物发现业务的人有自己的一套挑战,但当我读到以下内容时,我对那些将我们的发现推向市场的制造商获得了更大的尊重。"技术上的障碍阻碍了从小鼠到数百万人的道路。疫苗公司必须为监管当局记录其制造过程的每一步,而Moderna的疫苗有900个步骤"。需要精确性。

=

Barry A. Bunin,PhD ,是合作药物发现公司的创始人和首席执行官,该公司提供了一种现代的药物发现研究信息学方法,在全球范围内受到成千上万的领先研究人员的信任。CDD Vault®是一个托管的生物和化学数据库,可以安全地管理您的私人和外部数据。

Drug Discovery Industry Roundup with Barry Bunin — March 2, 2022

Barry Bunin, PhD Founder & CEO Collaborative Drug Discovery

Barry Bunin, PhD
Founder & CEO
Collaborative Drug Discovery

Designer Antibiotics? Drug Discovery & Trends reports that MIT researchers have come up with a new strategy to create potential antibiotics. The article reads in part: “Researchers at MIT are touting a novel method to synthesize a natural compound that has shown potential as an antibiotic. The chemists produced himastatin using the synthesis method and also managed to generate variants of the molecule, some of which showed antimicrobial activity. The compound appears to kill bacteria by disrupting cell membranes and it gives the researchers hope that they may design other molecules with even stronger antibiotic activity.”

  *           *             *

Harnessing AI to Help Enroll Patients in the 14,000 Oncology Clinical Trials Beginning Each Year. Clinical Research News carries a story on an AI-enabled clinical trial enrollment program for oncology patients. Called the 100K Singularity program, the article says it is “free of charge, was created to help close this disparity by connecting eligible patients to the right trials within 72 hours, making enrollment faster, cheaper, more efficient, at scale, and available to all cancer patients, regardless of income level or address.” Pointing to the value of such a program, the article notes: “Globally each year, approximately 14,000 oncology clinical trials enroll participants; also each year, more than 18 million people are diagnosed with cancer. Yet, according to the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), only 1 in 20 adult cancer patients, or less than 5%, participate in clinical trials.”

  *           *             *

Beyond the Patents: Manufacturing Moderna’s Vaccine has 900 Steps. In an example of work moving forward faster than the formal framework, Afrigen Biologics and Vaccines has begun making Moderna’s COVID-19 vaccine with the hope of licensing the technology afterwards as shared in Nature this month. In a related article, Bloomberg carries an opinion piece titled “Vaccine Makers Must Help the World Prepare for the Next Pandemic.” The essay says that beyond providing patent access, firms like Moderna, Pfizer, and BioNTech should be lending manufacturing expertise to a South African effort to create new mRNA shots. The article reads in part: “The WHO is investing $100 million over five years to develop an mRNA hub in South Africa, with expertise centered at Afrigen Biologics and Vaccines. Afrigen is expected to share the know-how it develops with other countries eager to establish their own vaccine infrastructure.” While we in the drug discovery business have our own set of challenges, I gained even greater respect for the manufacturers who take our discoveries to the market, as I read: “Technical hurdles stand in the path of moving from mouse to millions of humans. Vaccine companies must document for regulatory authorities each step of their manufacturing process, and Moderna’s vaccine has 900 steps.” Precision required.

=

Barry A. Bunin, PhD, is the Founder & CEO of Collaborative Drug Discovery, which provides a modern approach to drug discovery research informatics trusted globally by thousands of leading researchers. CDD Vault® is a hosted biological and chemical database that securely manages your private and external data.