巴里-布宁的药物发现行业综述--2022年12月

巴里-布宁,PhD 创始人兼首席执行官 协作药物发现公司

巴里-布宁PhD
创始人兼CEO
协作式药物发现

莱卡尼姆(Lecanemab)。 "好处是真实的;风险也是真实的"。 这是来自 报道纽约时报》,该报使用了"新数据显示,阿尔茨海默氏症药物可能使一些患者受益 "这样一个冷静的、非炒作的标题。我们都希望这被证明是对抗阿尔茨海默氏症漫长征程中的一个重要里程碑,但这个奖项一直难以实现。文章指出,一些研究人员对来卡尼单抗"也导致一些患者出现脑肿或脑出血 "表示担忧。新英格兰医学杂志》(New England Journal of Medicine)上的一份研究报告说,这些发现 发表的新英格兰医学杂志》上的一份研究结果报告说,在18个月内,与接受安慰剂的病人相比,利卡尼单抗"导致认知和功能方面的下降适度减少"。尽管如此,这项由两家公司资助并由卫材公司的科学家共同撰写的针对近1800名轻度症状患者的研究得出结论:"需要进行更长时间的试验来确定莱卡尼单抗在早期阿尔茨海默病中的疗效和安全性。"FIERCE生物技术公司也采取了谨慎的态度,其标题为 文章标题为"面对熟悉的副作用问题,卫材在病人死亡后为其下一个阿尔茨海默氏症药物做了说明"。文章指出:"两个潜在的与治疗有关的死亡使围绕卫材和百健下一个阿尔茨海默疗法lecanemab的最初光辉变得暗淡。

* * *

"罗氏在试验失败后关闭了大部分阿尔茨海默氏症药物的试验"。这是一份来自路透社的报告。 头条新闻来自路透社的报道,瑞士制药商罗氏正在关闭其实验性阿尔茨海默病药物gantenerumab的大部分临床试验,因为它在一对大型的晚期研究中未能减缓这种破坏心灵的疾病的发展。罗氏公司表示,它将停止所有对早期阿尔茨海默病的甘特纳鲁单抗研究,包括研究生试验的扩展研究和对大脑中有淀粉样物质证据但没有认知能力下降迹象的患者进行的天际线三期研究。在一个较好的方面,路透社援引罗氏公司神经变性药物开发全球主管Rachelle Doody的话说:"我们仍然致力于阿尔茨海默,并将把我们的重点放在新的和可能改进的新治疗方法上"。

* * *

天堂里的潮人 .. .大麻可以对抗Covid-19吗? 俄勒冈州立大学的研究人员将在本周的一个免费虚拟活动中介绍使用包括大麻在内的天然产品治疗Covid-19的信息,作为他们今年早些时候发布的研究的后续,该研究发现大麻中的化合物可以防止人类细胞中的SARS-CoV-2病毒感染。福布斯》杂志 报告俄勒冈州立大学全球大麻创新中心、药学院和莱纳斯-鲍林研究所的研究员Richard van Breemen和他的团队发现,大麻品种中常见的两种大麻酸,即大麻酚酸,或CBGA,和大麻二酚酸,也称为CBDA,可以与SARS-CoV-2(导致Covid-19的病毒)的尖峰蛋白结合。通过与尖峰蛋白结合,这些化合物可以防止病毒进入细胞并造成感染,从而有可能为预防和治疗该疾病提供新的途径。布雷曼将于12月6日发表他的研究结果。现场活动将在俄勒冈州科瓦利斯市的旧世界熟食店举行,不过你也可以观看演讲。 网上.

* * *

"人工智能如何能彻底改变药物发现"。这是麦肯锡最近发布的一个简短视频的标题 报告(麦肯锡最近发布的一个简短视频的标题(提供文字记录)。该报告问道。"人体是令人难以置信的复杂。即使只是发现一种成功治疗疾病的新药,也需要很多年。人工智能能否帮助加快这一进程?"(Spoiler Alert: McKinsey analysts are bullish.) 这份简短的报告描绘了一幅熟悉的画面,即机器学习如何将发现的时间加快几个数量级,但它也提供了一个脚踏实地的建议,以便开始工作。"不要设立一个五年后才交付的项目。你应该考虑如何在三个月内实现价值,以及在分析、数据和技术方面需要做什么,并对价值和科学过程进行不懈的激光关注"。

* * *

"美国食品和药物管理局批准了第一个延迟1型糖尿病发病的治疗方法"。就是 CNN头条新闻关于单克隆抗体teplizumab,它将以品牌名称Tzield上市,由ProventionBio和赛诺菲公司生产。它被认为是通过减少身体对自身胰岛素生产细胞错误攻击而发挥作用。我们的想法是,在人们依赖胰岛素来控制病情之前,保护这些细胞可以为他们赢得更多时间。美国有线电视新闻网报道说,这种治疗是一个为期14天的单次输液疗程,每次持续30至60分钟,整个疗程的批发费用大约为19.4万美元。虽然这种药物不能治愈或预防1型糖尿病,但它能将其发病时间平均推迟两年,对一些人来说则更长。这将使早期筛查变得更加重要。纽约时报写道:"泰普利珠单抗将用于治疗1型糖尿病的高风险患者,这些患者的抗体表明他们的胰腺受到了免疫攻击,而且他们的葡萄糖耐量不正常。"

=

Barry A. Bunin,PhD ,是合作药物发现公司的创始人和首席执行官,该公司提供了一种现代的药物发现研究信息学方法,在全球范围内受到成千上万的领先研究人员的信任。CDD Vault®是一个托管的生物和化学数据库,可以安全地管理您的私人和外部数据。

Drug Discovery Industry Roundup with Barry Bunin — December 2022

Barry Bunin, PhD Founder & CEO Collaborative Drug Discovery

Barry Bunin, PhD
Founder & CEO
Collaborative Drug Discovery

Lecanemab: The Benefit is Real; So Too are the Risks.” Thats from coverage in The New York Times, which uses a sober, non-hyped headline of Alzheimers Drug May Benefit Some Patients, New Data Shows.” We all hope this proves to be a significant milestone on the long march toward fighting Alzheimers, but the prize has been elusive. The article noted some researchers expressing concern that lecanemab also caused some patients to experience brain swelling or brain bleeding.” A report of the findings published in the New England Journal of Medicine said that over 18 months, lecanemab resulted in moderately less decline on measures of cognition and function,” compared with patients receiving a placebo. Still, the study of nearly 1,800 patients with mild symptoms, which was funded by the companies and co-written by scientists at Eisai, concluded that longer trials are warranted to determine the efficacy and safety of lecanemab in early Alzheimers disease.” FIERCE Biotech also takes a cautious approach with its article headlined Facing a Familiar Side Effect Problem, Eisai Makes the Case for its Next Alzheimer's Drug After Patient Deaths.” The article notes Two potential treatment-related deaths have dimmed the initial glow surrounding Eisai and Biogens next Alzheimers disease therapy lecanemab.”

  * * *

Roche Shutters Most Trials of Alzheimer's Drug After Failed Trials.” Thats a headline from Reuters reporting that Swiss drugmaker Roche is closing down most clinical trials of its experimental Alzheimer's drug gantenerumab after it failed to slow advance of the mind-robbing disease in a pair of large, late-stage studies. Roche says it will stop all gantenerumab studies in early Alzheimer's disease, including extension studies of the Graduate trials and the Skyline Phase III study in patients with evidence of amyloid in the brain but no signs of cognitive decline. On a brighter note, Reuters quotes Rachelle Doody, Roche's Global Head of Neurodegeneration Drug Development as saying We remain committed to Alzheimers disease and will direct our focus to new and potentially improved approaches for new treatments."

  * * *

Hipsters in Paradise . . . Could Cannabis Fight Covid-19? Researchers at Oregon State University will present information on using natural products including hemp to treat Covid-19 at a free virtual event this week, as a follow up to their study released earlier this year that found that compounds in cannabis could prevent infection by the SARS-CoV-2 virus in human cells. Forbes reports that Richard van Breemen, a researcher with Oregon States Global Hemp Innovation Center, College of Pharmacy and Linus Pauling Institute, and his team found that two cannabinoid acids commonly found in hemp varietals of cannabis, cannabigerolic acid, or CBGA, and cannabidiolic acid, also known as CBDA, can bind to the spike protein of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes Covid-19. By binding to the spike protein, the compounds can prevent the virus from entering cells and causing infection, potentially offering new avenues to prevent and treat the disease. Breeman will be presenting his findings Dec. 6. The live event is being held at the Old World Deli in Corvallis, Oregon—though you can also watch the presentation online.

  * * *

How AI Could Revolutionize Drug Discovery.” Thats the title of a brief video report (with transcript provided) recently released by McKinsey. The report asks: Human bodies are incredibly complex. It takes many years to discover even just one new medicine to successfully treat a disease. Could artificial intelligence help speed up that process?” (Spoiler Alert: McKinsey analysts are bullish.) The brief report paints a familiar picture of how machine learning may speed time to discovery by orders of magnitude, but it also provides a down-to-earth suggestion for getting started: Dont set up a project that delivers only after five years. Have a view on how you can deliver value in three months—and on what it takes in terms of analytics, data, and technology—with a relentless laser focus on value…and for the scientific process.”

  * * *

FDA Approves First Treatment to Delay Onset of Type 1 Diabetes.” Thats the CNN headline about the monoclonal antibody teplizumab, which will be marketed under the brand name Tzield, from ProventionBio and Sanofi. It is thought to work by turning down the bodys misdirected attack on its own insulin-producing cells. The idea is that protecting these cells buys people more time before they become dependent on insulin to manage their condition. CNN reports the treatment comes in a single 14-day course of infusions that each last 30 to 60 minutes, and will carry a wholesale cost of roughly $194,000 for a full course of treatment. While the drug does not cure or prevent Type 1 diabetes, it postpones its onset by an average of two years, and longer for some. This will put a premium on early screening. The New York Times writes “Teplizumab will be used to treat patients at high risk for Type 1 diabetes who have antibodies that indicate an immune attack on their pancreas and whose glucose tolerance is not normal.”

=

Barry A. Bunin, PhD, is the Founder & CEO of Collaborative Drug Discovery, which provides a modern approach to drug discovery research informatics trusted globally by thousands of leading researchers. CDD Vault® is a hosted biological and chemical database that securely manages your private and external data.