为什么用pIC50代替IC50会改变您的生活

21年2019月X日
(最初发布于7月8,2014;更新于11月21,2019)

为什么使用pIC50代替IC50会改变您的生活(特色图片)

从桌子上 Marc Navre博士,
Facile Therapeutics,Inc联合创始人兼首席执行官

相当多的 CDD Vault 订户使用 IC50 值来存储和分析其剂量响应数据 在体外 分析。 现在,自动计算扩展 CDD Vault 支持 计算pCI50值,我想说服IC50的用户考虑使用 pIC50 而是为什么它可以使您的生活更轻松(从长远来看),并且可以使您成为更美好的人。

我曾在两家小型生物技术公司工作,负责生物学和信息学方面的工作,因此能够“强制”使用pIC50值而不是IC50值。 您可能以为我从现在开始说过,我们将在午餐时吃小虫。 这是一场艰苦的战斗,有一个学习曲线,但是六个月后,每个人都习惯了它,同意它会更好,并且不会回头。 哦,是的,这只是“正确的做法”。

IC50首先是什么?

An IC50测量 告诉我们药物能够抑制特定生物过程50%的浓度。 例如,如果化合物A在50 nM的浓度下能抑制配体与特定受体结合的5%,则IC50值为5 nM。 一个密切相关的概念是EC50值,它是药物诱导生物过程的能力。

那么,什么是pIC50? 它只是IC50值的摩尔对数的负对数。 看:

  • 50 µM的IC1是10-6 M,即pIC50 = 6.0
  • 50 nM的IC1是10-9 M,即pIC50 = 9.0
  • 50 nM的IC10是10-8 M,即pIC50 = 8.0
  • 50 nM的IC100是10-7 M,即pIC50 = 7.0
  • 50 nM的IC30是3 x10-7 M,也是10-7.5 M,即pIC50 = 7.5

你看到图案了吗? 您正在从事药物研发工作……自从高中毕业的圆柱体撞倒以来,您一直在使用pH进行研究。 在实验室工作时,您是否说过该溶液的酸度为10 µM(10-5 M)[H+]? 当然不是。 您谈到了在pH 5下的溶液。 而且,您也不必费心尝试在脑海中进行计算……也就是说,您没有尝试将7.5的pH值转换为30 nM [H+]。 那是因为您已经训练自己去思考pH值,以及水溶液的酸度是对数函数这一事实。 实验中的pH值从1到2到3,而不是10 mM到20 mM到30 mM [H+].

正是您应该考虑IC50值的方式(或在测试激动剂时,EC50值)。 酶或细胞的剂量依赖性抑制(或激活)是对数现象(相对于化合物浓度),因此以这种方式查看数据更有意义。 而且,如果您查看大型制药公司的论文,您会发现它们经常以pIC50而不是IC50报告抑制作用。

那么,您是否应该仅因为默克公司就这样做了? 不,让我们讨论为什么 is 正确的方式(以及默克,葛兰素史克(GSK)等为何使用它)。

剂量反应曲线

处理剂量响应数据时,您要根据测试化合物的浓度(以摩尔计)拟合您的响应(例如,0-100%,为简单起见)。 但是,如果仔细看一下要进行曲线拟合的方程式(四参数对数函数,也称为Sigmoid函数),则计算出的是响应与 日志 化合物浓度。

hill_equation

y是您在化合物浓度下测得的响应 x. 返回 是没有抑制剂(也称为最大渐近线)的响应,并且 底部 是当酶(或细胞)被完全抑制(又称最小渐近线)时的响应。 而且当然, IC50 是拐点(顶部和底部之间的中途点),即您要求解的值。

因此,曲线拟合实际上解决了logIC50,而不是IC50。 如果您想从拟合中了解误差,则可以得到对称围绕IC50的标准误差(SEM)。 但是,如果您开始将pIC50值更改为IC50,则该错误将变得不对称,并且没有任何意义。

您必须返回并执行反日志以获取IC50。 如今,借助计算机和Excel,这很容易。 因此,“每个人都这样做”。 但是您采取“轻松的步骤”会损失很多。 有什么好处? 这将如何改变您的生活?

首先,考虑一下数据表示和有效数字(您确实注意有效数据,不是吗?)。 考虑考虑提供IC50值,以显示一系列弱到有力的化合物。 您的表可能如下所示:

IC50_table

很难在同一张表上复查具有广泛效价的化合物的数据。 对于大多数文本编辑器或文字处理程序来说,很难使数字在小数点附近对齐(应该这样做以使其更具可读性)。 您也到处都是重要人物。 不专业。

现在,这里是相同的数据,该表改为显示pIC50值:

pIC50_CDD_Vault

看那有多干净。 所有行都毫不费力地排列在小数点附近,并且它们都有相同数量的有效数字。 最重要的是,您可以更好地了解相对效能。 您希望在项目团队会议上出席哪个会议?

现在看一下化合物I和J。通过线性IC50,思维定势是“效力的两倍”。 但是,请看一下pIC50。 差异不是那么大……这是正确的。 IC50是一个对数函数,需要根据对数差异来考虑差异。

当您尝试开始获取复合功效的平均值时,可以获得另一个重要的优势。 平均IC50值的正确方法是采用IC50值的几何平均值,而不是算术平均值。 回想一下,n个值的算术平均值是n个值的总和除以n。 相反,可以通过确定 产品 取n个值中的一个,然后取乘积的n根。 因此,如果您的三个值是4,5和6 µM,则几何平均值为:

几何平均数

请注意,它与算术平均值(当然是5 µM)不同。 但是,如果使用pIC50,则可以轻松计算出IC50值的几何平均值。 这是因为几何平均值也是IC50值的对数的算术平均值。

为您的化合物选择化合物浓度时,请记住这一对数思路 剂量反应曲线。 通常的趋势是使用5因子:1 nM,5 nM,10 nM等。但是由于您现在是专业人士,并且从事日志工作,因此最好使用大约3的因子。半个日志。 也就是说,1 nM,3 nM,10 nM等。这可以使您在对数剂量响应曲线上有更好的间距。 参见下图。 这种做法可以有效地转化为体内研究:以1,3和10 mg / kg进行工作比以1,5和10 mg / kg进行工作可获得更好的传播。

作为说明,请看下面的图。 这是一个理论图,其中数据拟合到IC50方程,底部= 0,顶部= 100,IC50 = 100,并且希尔斜率= 1。 在左边的图中,线性地选择了化合物浓度(1,5,10,50等)。 相反,在左侧的图中,对数选择了点(1,3,10,30等)。 请注意,右侧图上的点是如何均匀分布的,而在左侧幻灯片上,它们是成簇的。 由于创建剂量反应曲线的目标是尽可能多地采样“剂量空间”,因此将剂量基于对数间隔可以更好地进行采样。 哪个显示出更好的实验设计? 哪种情节使您对结果有更大的信心? 您希望在项目审查中显示哪个?

IC50_plots

还是不服气? 这是5的特定原因,为什么用pIC50代替IC50可以改善您的剂量反应故事

从IC50切换到pIC50会使您改变对数据和实验设计的看法。 它将鼓励您对效能数据进行对数思考,而不再考虑算术标度。 从根本上说,剂量依赖性抑制是一种对数现象,因此以这种方式进行思考更有意义。

1。 pIC50会鼓励您对数查看体外测定数据。

想一想何时绘制IC50值-效能数据。 您使用某些系统进行曲线拟合,所有这些系统都使用IC50方程。 但是,如果您不了解任何内容,并查看适合的实际方程式,就会发现它实际上是用来确定IC50值对数的药物浓度的对数。 该软件可能会为您报告IC50,但它会从日志IC50进行反向转换。

这个想法是,当您查看自己的数据时 电子实验室笔记本 使用pIC50而不是IC50,从微摩尔抑制剂到纳摩尔抑制剂的过渡更加顺畅,效力值之间的距离也更相关。

2。 pIC50使您能够以易于阅读的形式呈现体外测定数据。

使用pIC50时,几乎可以使用两个有效数字来涵盖微摩尔和纳摩尔的效力。 您在小数点前有一位数字,而在小数点后有一位数字就是这样。

这有什么了不起的? 现在,您的听众可以专注于SAR,而不必再进行心理体操来试图了解您的IC50值。 读者容易理解pIC50的值,并且可以清晰有效地进行交流。

3。 pIC50使您可以轻松,直观地对体外测定数据进行平均。

假设您的分析天很糟糕。 您已获得同一IC50测定的以下三个重复样品:1 mM,10 mM和5 mM。 如果计算算术平均值,则平均IC50为3.5 mM,但这是不正确的。 对IC50数据进行平均的正确方法是使用几何平均值,因为您使用的是指数值,结果是3.7 mM(在跳过复杂的数学运算之后)。

但是,如果您使用pIC50,则可以避免进行几何均值数学运算,而可以采用pIC50值的算术平均值,因为您已经在对数空间中。

您可以通过在IC50上进行几何均值来完成困难的方法,也可以使用pIC50值的算术方法来实现智能便捷的方法。

4。 pIC50和对数思维将改善您计划实验的方式。

使用pIC50甚至可以帮助您开始为实验取出试管。

例如,您通常会设置诸如1,000,500,100等的半个稀释曲线吗? 当您在对数化合物浓度标度上绘制数据时,您是否注意到数据点聚集在一起,并且分布不均匀? 这是因为在对数标度上,五个数字不在1到10的中间。

但是,如果您以对数的方式思考,就像鼓励使用pIC50一样,您会意识到介于1到10之间的数字实际上是3。 然后,您可以设置稀释度,使其为1,000,300,100,30等,这将使您的数据点下降得很好,并平滑沿曲线下落的点的间距。 这是一种更好的方式来采样集中空间并从相同的工作量中获得更可靠的数据。 这不仅适用于体外实验,而且也适用于体内实验。

5。 pIC50和对数思维将改善您如何看待数据的可靠性。

报告IC50确定的可靠性很复杂。 您可能熟悉标准错误,但是查看数据可靠性的另一种较不常见但更有用的方法是95%置信区间,这使您有95%的机会将真实值设为范围。

如果您使用能够进行曲线拟合的现代软件,则会注意到它会报告IC95的50%置信区间,但不会报告标准误差。 这是因为算术值(IC50)的标准误差对于对数数据没有意义。 使用此错误方法会给您不正确的结果,例如IC50值为负。

IC50负值是多少? 答案是您应该尖叫,因为没有这种东西。 当您开始在算术空间中考虑对数值时,这是发生的错误类型。

总之,请考虑对数值,并考虑在发现工作中使用pIC50(或pEC50)值。 真的,它可以改变您的生活。


这个网志是由 CDD Vault 社区。 CDD Vault 是托管的 药物发现信息学 安全管理私人和外部生化数据的平台。 它提供了核心功能,包括 化学注册, 结构活动关系, 化学品清单电子实验室笔记本 能力!

CDD Vault:整个项目团队都将拥护药物发现信息学!

Skip to content
en English

Why using pIC50 instead of IC50 will change your life

November 21, 2019
(Originally published July 8, 2014; Updated November 21, 2019)

Why Using pIC50 instead of IC50 will change your life (featured image)

 

From the desk of Marc Navre, Ph.D.,
Co-Founder and CEO, Facile Therapeutics, Inc

 

A significant number of CDD Vault subscribers use IC50 values to store and analyze their dose response data from in-vitro assays. Now that the automated calculations extension of CDD Vault supports the calculation of pCI50 values, I’d like to convince users of IC50 to consider using pIC50 instead, and why it will make your life easier (in the long run), and just make you a finer human being.

I’ve worked in two small biotech companies where I was heading up both biology and informatics, and thus was able to “force” the use of pIC50 values instead of IC50 values. You would have thought I said from now on we will be eating bugs for lunch. It was a bit of an uphill battle, and there is a learning curve, but after six months, everyone was used to it, agreed it was better, and wouldn’t go back. Oh yeah, and it’s just plain “the right thing to do”.

What is IC50 in the First Place?

An IC50 measurement tells us the concentration at which a drug is able to inhibit a particular biological process by 50%. For example, if compound A can inhibit 50% of the binding of a ligand to a particular receptor at a concentration of 5 nM, it would have an IC50 value of 5 nM. A closely related concept is the EC50 value which is the potency of a drug to induce a biological process.

So then what is a pIC50? It’s simply the negative log of the IC50 value in molar. Watch:

  • An IC50 of 1 µM is 10-6 M, which is pIC50 = 6.0
  • An IC50 of 1 nM is 10-9 M, which is pIC50 = 9.0
  • An IC50 of 10 nM is 10-8 M, which is pIC50 = 8.0
  • An IC50 of 100 nM is 10-7 M, which is pIC50 = 7.0
  • An IC50 of 30 nM is 3 x10-7 M, which is also 10-7.5 M, which is pIC50 = 7.5

Do you see a pattern? You’re in drug discovery… you’ve been working with pH since you were knocking over graduated cylinders in high school. When working in the lab, did you say that this solution has an acidity of 10 µM (10-5 M) [H+]? Of course not. You talked about a solution at pH 5. And you didn’t bother trying to back calculate in your head … that is, you didn’t try and convert a pH value of 7.5 to 30 nM [H+]. That’s because you’ve trained yourself to think in terms of pH, as well as the fact that the acidity of an aqueous solutions is a logarithmic function. pH values in experiments go from 1 to 2 to 3, not 10 mM to 20 mM to 30 mM [H+].

That is exactly the way you should think about IC50 values (or when testing agonists, EC50 values). Dose dependent inhibition (or activation) of an enzyme or cell is a logarithmic phenomenon (with regard to compound concentration), so it makes more sense to view the data this way. And if you look at papers from the big pharma companies, you will notice that they more often than not report inhibition as pIC50 instead of IC50.

So should you do it that way just because Merck does it that way? No, so let’s discuss why it is the right way (and why Merck, GSK, etc. use it).

The Dose Response Curve

When you crunch your dose response data, you are fitting your response (say 0-100%, to keep it simple) against the concentration of test compound (ultimately in molar). But if you look carefully at the equation for which you are running a curve fit (the Four-Parameter Logistic Function, also known as the sigmoid function), what is being calculated is response vs. the log of compound concentration.

hill_equation

where y is the response you have measured at compound concentration x. Top is the response with no inhibitor (aka the maximum asymptote), and bottom is the response when the enzyme (or cell) is fully inhibited (aka the minimum asymptote). And of course, IC50 is the inflection point (halfway point between top and bottom), the value you are solving for.

So the curve fitting actually solves for the logIC50, not IC50. If you want to know the error from the fit, you can get a standard error (SEM) that surrounds the IC50 symmetrically. But if you start changing the pIC50 value to IC50, that error becomes asymmetric, and makes no sense.

You have to go back and do the anti-log to get the IC50. And this is easy these days with computers and Excel. So “everyone does it”. But you lose a lot in taking that “easy step”. What is the advantage? How will this change your life?

For starters, think about data presentation and significant figures (you do pay attention to significant figures, don’t you?). Think about presenting IC50 values for a range of weak to potent compounds. Your table probably looks like this:

IC50_table

It’s hard to review the data for compounds with a wide range of potencies on the same table. With most text editors or word processors, it’s very difficult to get the numbers to line up around the decimal point (which they should do to make it most readable). You are also all over the map with significant figures. Not professional.

Now here is the same data where the table shows pIC50 values instead:

pIC50_CDD_Vault

Look how clean that is. All lined up around the decimal point with no extra effort, and they all have the same number of significant figures. And most importantly, you get a better sense of the relative potencies. Which would you rather present at a project team meetings?

Now look at compounds I and J. By linear IC50s, the mindset is “twice as potent”. But look at the pIC50s. The differences aren’t that great… and that’s correct. IC50 is a log function… differences need to be thought about in terms of log differences.

Another important advantage is achieved when you try to start getting averages of your compound potencies. The proper way to average IC50 values is to take the geometric mean of the IC50 values, not the arithmetic mean. Recall that the arithmetic mean of n values is the sum of the n values divided by n. In contrast, the geometric mean can be calculated by determining the product of the n values, and then taking the n-root of the product. So if your three values are 4, 5, and 6 µM, the geometric mean is:

geometric_mean

Note that it is not the same as the arithmetic mean (which of course is 5 µM). However, you can easily calculate the geometric mean of your IC50 values if you use pIC50s. This is because the geometric mean is also the arithmetic means of the logs of the IC50 values.

Keep this logarithmic thinking in mind when you select your compound concentrations for your dose response curves. The general tendency is to work in factors of 5: 1 nM, 5 nM, 10 nM, etc. But since you are now a pro, and working in log land, you are better off working in factors of about 3, which is roughly half a log. That is, 1 nM, 3 nM, 10 nM, etc. This gives you better spacing on your logarithmic dose response curves. See the figure below. This is a practice that translates effectively into in vivo studies: you get a better spread working at 1, 3 and 10 mg/kg rather than at 1, 5 and 10 mg/kg.

As an illustration, look at the plots below. This is a theoretical plot where data was fit to the IC50 equation with bottom = 0, top = 100, IC50= 100, and Hill slope=1. In the plot on the left, the compound concentrations were selected linearly (1, 5, 10, 50, etc). In contrast, in the plot on the left, the points were selected logarithmically (1, 3, 10, 30, etc). Note how the points on the right-hand plot are evenly spaced, while on the left-hand slide they are clumped. Since your goal in creating dose-response curves is to sample as much of “dose space” as possible, basing the doses on log intervals gives better sampling. Which shows better experimental design? Which plot gives you greater confidence in your results? Which would you rather show at a project review?

IC50_plots

 

 

Still not convinced? Here are 5 specific reasons why replacing IC50 with pIC50 will improve your dose response story

Switching from IC50 to pIC50 causes you to change how you think about your data and your experimental design. It will encourage you to think logarithmically about your potency data and stop thinking about arithmetic scales. Fundamentally dose-dependent inhibition is a logarithmic phenomenon, so it makes more sense to think of it that way.

 

1. pIC50 will encourage you to look at in vitro assay data logarithmically.

Think about when you plot your IC50 values — your potency data. You use some system for curve fitting, and all these systems use an IC50 equation. But, if you get under the covers and you look at the actual equation that’s being fit, you’ll see that it is actually the log of your drug concentration being used to determine the log of the IC50 value. The software may report an IC50 for you, but it’s back converting it from the log IC50.

The idea is, when you’re looking at the data in your electronic lab notebook using pIC50 and not IC50, the transition from the micromolar to the nanomolar inhibitors is smoother and the spacing between potency values is more relevant.

 

2. pIC50 will allow you to present in vitro assay data in an easy-to-read form.

When you use pIC50, you can pretty much use two significant figures to cover both micromolar and nanomolar potencies. You’ve got one digit before the dot and one digit after the dot and that’s it.

What’s so great about this? Now your audience can focus on the SAR, and stop doing mental gymnastics trying to understand your IC50 values. pIC50 values are easy for an audience to understand and you will enable you to communicate clearly and effectively.

 

3. pIC50 will make it easy and intuitive to average your in vitro assay data.

Let’s say you’ve had a bad assay day. You’ve gotten the following three replicates of the same IC50 determination: 1 mM, 10 mM, and 5 mM. If you calculate the arithmetic mean, you get an average IC50 of 3.5 mM, but that is incorrect. The right way to average IC50 data is to use the geometric mean because you’re working with an exponential value, which turns out to be 3.7 mM (after skipping the complicated math).

But, if you use pIC50s you can avoid doing the geometric mean math and you can just take the arithmetic mean of the pIC50 values because you’re already in a logarithmic space. 

You can do it the difficult way by doing a geometric mean on IC50, or do it the smart and easy way using arithmetic means of your pIC50 values.

 

4. pIC50 and logarithmic thinking will improve how you plan your experiments.

Using pIC50 will help before you even start taking out the test tubes for your experiment.

For example, do you typically set up half decade dilution curves like 1,000, 500, 100, etc.? Do you notice that your data points are clumped up when you plot the data on your logarithmic compound concentration scale, and not evenly spaced? That’s because five is not halfway between one and ten on the logarithm scale. 

However, if you’re thinking logarithmically, like using pIC50 encourages you to, you would realize that the number halfway between one and ten is actually around three. You can then set up your dilution so it’s 1,000, 300, 100, 30, etc., which will allow your data points to fall nicely and smooth out the spacing of the points as they fall along the curve. This is a much nicer way to sample concentration space and get more reliable data from the same amount of work. This applies not only for in vitro experiments but for in vivo experiments as well.

 

5. pIC50 and logarithmic thinking will improve how you look at the reliability of your data.

Reporting the reliability of IC50 determinations is complex. You’re probably familiar with standard error, but the other less common, but more useful, way to look at the reliability of your data is the 95% confidence interval, which gives you a 95% chance that your true value will be in this range.

If you use modern software that does curve fitting, you’ll notice that it will report the 95% confidence interval of an IC50, but not the standard error. That’s because standard error of an arithmetic value (IC50) doesn’t make sense with logarithmic data. Using this erroneous method will give you incorrect results, such as negative IC50 values.

What is a negative IC50 value? The answer is you should scream because there’s no such thing. This is the type of error that occurs when you start thinking in an arithmetic space about a logarithmic value.

 

In summary, consider the value of logarithms, and consider using pIC50 (or pEC50) values in your discovery work. Really… it can change your life.

 


This blog is authored by members of the CDD Vault community. CDD Vault is a hosted drug discovery informatics platform that securely manages both private and external biological and chemical data. It provides core functionality including chemical registration, structure activity relationship, chemical inventory, and electronic lab notebook capabilities!

CDD Vault: Drug Discovery Informatics your whole project team will embrace!

CDD VAULT by Collaborative Drug Discovery is a simple and 100% secure data management platform hosted through an intuitive web interface

CDD Vault helps your project team manage, analyze, and present chemical structures, biological assays, and other scientific data.

edited-mac

CDD VAULT by Collaborative Drug Discovery is a simple and 100% secure data management platform hosted through an intuitive web interface

edited-mac

CDD Vault helps your project team manage, analyze, and present chemical structures, biological assays, and other scientific data.

Scroll To Top