化学和生物注册系统:它们是什么,您需要一个吗?

CDD帖子“化学和生物注册系统:它们是什么,您需要一个吗?”的精选图片。
的“ 1”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

什么是注册系统?

化学和生物注册系统可以在希望简化其工作流程的实验室中成为有用的IT工具。 顾名思义,注册系统旨在帮助跟踪用于实验的不同化学或生物实体,以及实验室中作为知识产权创建的新实体。 注册系统的核心功能是生成(或镜像)唯一标识符的能力,这些唯一标识符可以明确标识每个实体和批次组合。 这些系统除其他功能外,还具有捕获复杂化学和生物分子信息的能力,包括有关其结构,各种物理和化学特性以及分析测试数据的详细信息。

的“ 2”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

注册系统的好处

  1. 可发现性- 注册实体的最重要原因也许也是最显而易见的原因,即可发现性。 能够随时找到给定测试所需的内容,可以节省时间,并减少研究人员的挫败感。 实验室可以在任何给定时间存储数百或数千个分子和/或生物。 其中包括试剂,以及作为组织知识产权组合的核心部分而进行测试的实体。
  2. 独特性- 对于使用化学化合物或生物制剂的实验室,一个相关且同样重要的考虑因素是能够跟踪与唯一性相关的实体(批次,盐等)的重要详细信息,并引起歧义或重复错误。 当研究人员不经意间复制条目或筛选同一实体的不同形式时,注册系统可以进行标记。 这些系统还可以区分具有相似结构,子结构或序列的实体。
  3. 追踪- 使用注册系统注册实体的另一个原因是它们存储化学和生物实体以备将来跟踪的能力。 研究人员可以查询实体,并查看有关结构的完整详细信息,包括有关立体化学或类似序列的信息。
  4. 合规- 最后,实验室需要遵守各种州和联邦法规,良好的注册系统可以帮助确保在实验室检查或审核期间不会出现意外情况。 由于信息位于一个集中的位置,因此可以快速创建报告-考虑到所有当前实体。
的“ 3”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

化学和生物注册系统如何比较?

可以注册的实体大致分为两类:1.化学分子和2.生物实体。 一些注册系统专门处理一种类别,而其他系统则设计为容纳这两种类别。

化学注册: 包括用于输入单个化合物和化合物组,按结构搜索化合物以及为进入实验室的每种化合物分配唯一标识符的工具。 这些系统包括用于建立和显示单个化合物与化合物家族之间的关系,以及将化合物链接到实验室中关联的筛选数据的功能。 此外,化学系统是从一些化学数据库中获得的,这些化学数据库仅存储分子而没有一些有关立体化学或相关筛选数据的更详细的细节。

生物注册: 提供的功能使用户可以定义,注册,查询和报告有关生物学实体的信息,包括蛋白质,酶,抗体,DNA,RNA,细胞系,质粒,蛋白质,siRNA和蛋白质-药物偶联物。 它还包括用于管理生物实体之间的关系,收集单个实体的详细信息(例如蛋白质表达信息)以及在可能的情况下生成实体的化学表示的工具。

的“ 4”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

登记系统的特点

注册系统的一般好处包括:

  • 高效,自动地管理和跟踪单个化学和生物实体以及化合物的混合物
  • 快速轻松查询以找到感兴趣的实体
  • 为生物分子和化合物分配唯一的标识符
  • 减少了搜索化合物所花费的时间,并减少了测试未知化合物形式所花费的时间和资源
  • 可以从单个系统访问有关实验室实验中使用的不同实体的信息
  • 用于在单个系统中绘制和命名结构,添加和可视化注释以及编辑结构的组合功能
  • 大多数供应商可以将其注册系统与现有实验室基础架构和软件无缝集成。
  • 能够创建审计跟踪和报告

化学注册系统的特殊好处包括:

  • 使用结构数据文件或SMILES字符串注册单个化合物或化合物批次的能力
  • 将重复的条目标记为错误
  • 能够根据化合物结构捕获有关预测化学性质的信息
  • 相关化合物与同一化合物的盐或同位素之间的配准关系
  • 按结构,子结构和替代结构搜索化合物
  • 注册和存储多组分化合物

生物注册系统的特殊好处包括:

  • 能够注册单个生物实体或批次实体
  • 收集各种生物样品的详细信息
  • 用于创建和共享复杂生物分子的工具
  • 执行序列相似性搜索的工具
  • 在不同分子实体之间建立联系以建立血统和追踪家谱的工具
  • 计算生物学特性的功能
的“ 5”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

商业登记系统

市场上有各种各样的提供实体注册功能的商业解决方案。 与许多商业解决方案一样,供应商可能在其系统中包括其他定制功能和特性。 在大多数情况下,这些系统可以轻松地与现有的实验室基础架构集成,包括电子实验室笔记本和实验室信息管理系统等清单软件,甚至某些系统甚至可以提供可以使某些数据管理工作流程自动化的API,从而节省更多时间。

市场上可用的解决方案包括:

科学家使用显微镜
的“ 6”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

为什么注册系统比电子表格更好?

电子表格有其用途。 而且它们似乎是跟踪实验室实体的可行选择。 但是它们是有限的,并且随着化合物和/或生物物质列表的增加,电子表格的有效性降低。 此外,电子表格创建时并未考虑化学家或生物学家。 因此,它们没有能力正确绘制和显示化学结构或序列。

这也意味着研究人员可能需要使用单独的解决方案来处理他们的研究实体。 例如,他们可能使用电子表格来记录化合物的名称,然后使用单独的绘图工具来创建结构。 这是一个可行的解决方案,但是它增加了出错的风险并浪费了宝贵的时间。 此外,在Excel中,这些结构被保存为静态图像,几乎没有交互性。 最后,虽然可以对执行与化学相关的各种计算的Excel函数进行编程,但这会花费很多工作,并且需要一定水平的专业知识,而这些知识可能超出了大多数实验室的能力。

的“ 7”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

化学和生物注册系统与LIMS和ELN的比较

LIMSELNs 是样品注册和跟踪系统。 考虑到它们的设计目的,它们提供了与化学和生物配准系统类似的好处和功能,尽管主要是在样品级。

LIMS和ELN提供的功能范围可能包括样品的唯一标识符,产销监管链,自定义报告功能,角色分配,任务管理,电子签名,供应管理,仪器维护,客户发票和账单等等。 这些系统还提供类似的好处,包括:

  • 简便,自动化的管理,无需进行样品管理和管理,即可减少或消除文书工作。
  • 通过更高效,自动化的实验室流程和工作流程可以节省时间和成本,从而可以节省大量时间和成本。
  • 可从单个系统访问的信息。
  • LIMS和ELN解决方案与现有实验室基础设施集成在一起,包括测序仪器,光谱仪和PCR仪。

区别在于它们的特异性。 如本文开头所述:“注册系统的核心功能是生成(或镜像)唯一标识符的能力,这些标识符可以明确标识每个实体和批次组合。” 建立注册系统不仅可以处理实体本身,还可以处理其结构,序列和唯一注册号的生成,并将这些实体链接到任何关联的筛选数据。 LIMS和ELNS除非与注册系统集成在一起,否则通常不包含这种功能。

的“ 8”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

如何决定注册制度?

投资注册系统的决定是每个实验室需要单独做出的决定。 如果您的实验室处理大量不同的化合物和/或生物分子,或处理化合物的混合物,那么开箱即用(理想的网络访问)系统通常是您值得投资的研究信息学投资组合。 在此必须注意,一些实验室可能具有构建自己的系统或使用现有开源选项的专业知识。 但是,这些选项具有一些缺点,包括对系统进行编程,维护(通常是一段时间内的大部分开销),确保合规性,软件更新和补丁以及实现足够的安全性的唯一责任。

对于正在考虑购买系统的实验室,请考虑以下几点:

  1. 您是否有预算购买系统并支付相关费用–安装,许可证,人员培训,数据存储费用以及任何正在进行的维护? 某些商业软件安装会占用实验室预算的很大一部分,因此进行数学计算以确保可靠的收益:成本比(ROI)非常重要。
  2. 注册系统可以与现有实验室基础设施集成吗? 如今,大多数供应商都可以提供集成,但是检查您购买的系统是否可以与您拥有的第三方基础结构一起使用,或者弄清楚实现该目标所需的处理方法(手动,半自动或自动化)仍然是明智的。 )。
  3. 供应商提供哪些自定义功能,增强功能或升级? 由于注册系统提供相同的基本功能,因此定制功能可以发挥作用。
  4. 是否有机会直接与供应商互动? 测试软件系统以找到适合您的实验室的设计和功能的组合可能会有所帮助。 评估是免费还是付费?
  5. 实施需要多长时间? 实施任何软件都需要时间,注册系统也是如此。 从传统基础架构升级时,重要的是要设定期望并制定计划,以确保对实验室过程的干扰降到最低。 设置起来方便快捷还是麻烦?
的“ 9”列表图标 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

总结

借助正确的技术解决方案,能够快速从数据中收集见解并提高生产率既重要又可实现。 在各个行业中,化学和生物注册系统为使用大量化学和生物实体及相关数据的实验室增加了重要价值。 作为一大套研究信息学工具的一部分,这些解决方案可提高运营效率,减少人为错误的风险,节省时间并确保工作的完整性和传统性。

这个网志是由 CDD Vault 社区。 CDD Vault 是托管的 药物发现信息学 安全管理私人和外部生化数据的平台。 它提供了核心功能,包括 化学注册, 结构活动关系, 化学品清单电子实验室笔记本 能力。

协作药物发现(CDD)保险柜徽标

Chemical and Biological Registration Systems: What they are and do you need one?

featured image for CDD post "Chemical and Biological Registration Systems: What they are and do you need one?"

Author: Barry Bunin, PhD

"1" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

What are Registration Systems?

Chemical and Biological Registration systems can be useful IT tools in the arsenal of labs that are looking to streamline their workflows. As the name implies, registration systems are designed to help track the different chemical or biological entities used for experiments, as well as new ones created in the lab as intellectual property. A core function of registration systems is the ability to generate (or mirror) unique identifiers that unambiguously identifies each entity and batch combination. Among other functionality, these systems support the ability to capture information on complex chemical and biological molecules including details about their structure, various physical and chemical properties, and assay testing data.

"2" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

Benefits of Registration Systems

  1. Findability - Perhaps the most important reason for registering entities is also the most obvious one, findability. Being able to find what's needed for a given test at any point saves time, and results in less frustration for researchers. Labs can have hundreds or thousands of molecules and/or biologicals in stock at any given time. These include reagents, as well as entities made for testing as the core part of an organization's intellectual property portfolio. 
  2. Uniqueness - A related and equally important consideration, for labs that work with chemical compounds or biologicals, is being able to track Important details about an entity (lots, salts, etc) that are related to uniqueness and a cause for ambiguity or duplication errors. Registration systems can flag when researchers are unwittingly duplicating entries or screening different forms of the same entity. These systems can also distinguish between entities that have similar structures, sub-structures, or sequences.
  3. Tracking - Another reason to register your entities using a registration system is their ability to store chemical and biological entities for future tracking. Researchers can run queries for entities and see full details about the structures including information on stereochemistry or similar sequences.
  4. Compliance - Lastly, labs need to comply with various state and federal regulations and a good registration system can help ensure that there are no surprises during lab inspections or audits. Since the information is present in a single, centralized location, reports can be created quickly - accounting for all present entities.
"3" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

How do Chemical and Biological Registration Systems Compare?

Broadly, entities that can be registered fall into two categories: 1. chemical molecules and 2. biological entities. Some registration systems specialize in handling one category, while others are designed to accommodate both.

Chemical Registration: include tools for entering individual compounds and groups of compounds, searching for compounds by structure, and for assigning unique identifiers for each compound that comes into the lab. These systems include functionality for establishing and showing relationships between individual compounds and families of compounds, and for linking compounds to associated screening data in the lab. Moreover, chemical systems are a step up from some chemical databases which simply store the molecule without some of the more fine-grained details about stereochemistry or associated screening data. 

Biological Registration: offer functionality that lets users define, register, query, and report on biological entities including proteins, enzymes, antibodies, DNA, RNA, cell lines, plasmids, proteins, siRNAs, and protein-drug conjugates. It also includes tools for managing relationships between biological entities, collecting details on individual entities such as protein expression information, and generating chemical representations of entities where possible.

"4" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

Features of Registration Systems

General benefits of registration systems include the following:

  • Managing and tracking individual chemical and biological entities as well as mixtures of compounds efficiently and automatically
  • Quick and easy queries to locate entities of interest
  • Assigning unique identifiers to biomolecules and compounds
  • Reduction in the amount of time spent searching for compounds as well as time and resources wasted on testing unknown forms of the same compound
  • Information on different entities used in lab experiments can be accessible from a single system
  • Combined functionality for drawing and naming structures, adding and visualizing annotations, and editing structures in a single system
  • Most vendors can seamlessly integrate their registration systems with existing lab infrastructure and software
  • Ability to create audit trails and reports

 

Specific benefits of Chemical Registration Systems include: 

  • Ability to register single compounds or batches of compounds using Structure Data files or SMILES strings
  • Flags duplicate entries as errors
  • Ability to capture information about predicted chemical properties based on the compound structure
  • Registering relationships between related compounds and salts or isotopes of the same compound
  • Searching for compounds by structure, sub-structures, and alternative structures
  • Registering and storing multi-component compounds

 

Specific benefits that Biological Registration Systems include: 

  • Ability to register single biological entities or batches of entities
  • Collecting details on various biologic samples
  • Tools for creating and sharing complex biomolecules
  • Tools for performing sequence similarity searches
  • Tools to create relationships between different molecular entities to establish lineage and track genealogy
  • Functionality for calculating biological properties
"5" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

Commercial Registration Systems

There is a broad range of commercial solutions on the market offering entity registration functionality. As with many commercial solutions, vendors may include additional, bespoke functionality and features in their systems. In most cases, these systems can be easily integrated with existing lab infrastructure including inventory software such as Electronic Laboratory Notebooks and Laboratory Information Management Systems, and some may even offer APIs that can automate certain data management workflows, achieving even greater time-saving.

Available solutions in the market include:

Scientist using a microscope
"6" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

Why are Registration Systems Better than Spreadsheets?

Spreadsheets have their uses. And they may seem like a viable option for tracking your labs' entities. But they are limited and as the list of compounds and/or biologicals grows, spreadsheets become less effective. Furthermore, spreadsheets were not created with chemists or biologists in mind. As such they do not have the capacity to properly draw and display chemical structures nor sequences. 

It also means that researchers may need to use separate solutions to handle their research entities. For example, they might use a spreadsheet for the names of chemical compounds, and then a separate drawing tool to create the structures. It is a workable solution, however it increases the risk of errors and wastes precious time. Moreover, within Excel, these structures are saved as static images that offer little to no interactivity. Lastly, while it may be possible to program Excel functions that perform various chemistry-related calculations, this takes work and requires a level of expertise that may be beyond most labs' capacity.

"7" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

Comparing Chemical and Biologial Registration Systems to LIMS & ELNs

LIMS and ELNs are sample registration and tracking systems. Given the purpose for which they were designed, they offer some similar benefits and features that chemical and biological registrations systems do, albeit primarily at the sample level.

The range of functionality that LIMS and ELNs offer may include unique identifiers for samples, chain of custody, custom reporting functionality, role assignment, task management, electronic signatures, supply management, instrument maintenance, customer invoicing and billing, and much more. These systems also offer similar benefits including: 

  • Easy and automated administration that takes the guesswork out of sample administration and management and cuts down or eliminates paperwork. 
  • Time and cost savings as a result of more efficient, automated lab processes and workflows can result in significant time and cost savings across the board. 
  • Information accessible from a single system. 
  • LIMS and ELN solutions integrated with existing lab infrastructure including sequencing instruments, spectrometers, and PCR machines. 

The difference comes down to their specificity. As mentioned at the start of this article “A core function of registration systems is the ability to generate (or mirror) unique identifiers that unambiguously identify each entity and batch combination.” Registration systems are built to handle not just the entities themselves but also their structures, sequences and generation of unique registration numbers, and to link these entities to any associated screening data. LIMS and ELNS, unless they are integrated with a registration system, don't generally include this kind of functionality.

"8" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

How to decide on a Registration System?

The decision to invest in a registration system is one that each lab needs to make individually. If your lab works with large quantities of diverse compounds and/or biological molecules, or works with mixtures of compounds, then an out-of-the-box (ideally web-accessible) system is often a worthwhile investment in your research informatics portfolio. It is important to note here that some labs may have the expertise to build their own systems or use an existing open-source option. However, these options come with some drawbacks including sole responsibility for programming the system, maintenance (often the majority of the overhead over time), ensuring regulatory compliance, software updates and patches, and implementing adequate security.

For labs that are considering purchasing a system, here are a few things to think about: 

  1. Do you have the budget to purchase a system and cover associated costs – installation, licenses, staff training, data storage costs, and any ongoing maintenance? Some commercial software installations can take a significant chunk out of a lab's budget, so it is important to do the math to ensure a solid benefit:cost ratio (ROI).
  2. Can the registration system integrate with existing lab infrastructure? These days most vendors can offer integration but it is still wise to check that the system you are purchasing will work with third-party infrastructure you have or figure out what it will take to make that happen (either manually, semi-automated, or automated).
  3. What custom capabilities, enhancements, or upgrades does the vendor offer? Since registration systems offer the same base functionality, bespoke features can make the difference. 
  4. Are there opportunities to engage directly with vendors? It may be helpful to test the software system to find the right mix of design and functionality for your lab. Is the evaluation free vs paid?
  5. How long will the implementation take? Implementing any software takes time and the same is true for registration systems. As you upgrade from legacy infrastructure, it is important to set expectations and have a plan in place to ensure minimum disruption to lab processes. Is it quick and easy to get set-up or cumbersome?
"9" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

Conclusion

Being able to quickly glean insights from data and improve productivity is both important and achievable with the right technology solutions. Across industries, Chemical and Biological Registration Systems add significant value to labs working with large numbers of chemical and biological entities and associated data. As part of a larger suite of research informatics tools, these solutions improve operational efficiency, reduce the risks of human error, save time, and ensure the integrity and legacy of your work.

References

  1. What is Chemical Registration? https://info.collaborativedrug.com/chemicalregistration
  2. Chemical Database https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chemical_database#List_of_Chemical_Registration_Systems
  3. CDD Vault Activity & Registration Module https://www.collaborativedrug.com/benefits/activity-registration/
  4. Biovia Biological Registration Datasheet https://www.3dsbiovia.com/products/datasheets/biological-registration.pdf
  5. Chemical Registration Systems http://openbabel.org/docs/current/Cheminf101/registration.html
  6. The Advantages of a Good Chemical Inventory System https://www.bioraft.com/resources/the-advantages-of-a-good-chemical-inventory-system
  7. Compound Registration http://www.corelims.com/v4Docs/Chemistry_Specific/Single_Compound_Registration/Chemistry_v4.htm
  8. Martin, E., Monge, A., Duret, J. A., Gualandi, F., Peitsch, M. C., & Pospisil, P. (2012). Building an R&D chemical registration system. Journal of cheminformatics, 4(1), 11. https://doi.org/10.1186/1758-2946-4-11

This blog is authored by members of the CDD Vault community. CDD Vault is a hosted drug discovery informatics platform that securely manages both private and external biological and chemical data. It provides core functionality including chemical registrationstructure activity relationshipchemical inventory, and electronic lab notebook capabilities.

Collaborative Drug Discovery (CDD) Vault Logo