冠狀病毒(SARS-CoV-2):時間表和更新

更好地了解流行病的科學事實

更新

21月XNUMX日: COVID-19主要 通過呼吸道飛沫在人與人之間傳播,並且沒有明確的證據表明糞便或空氣傳播。


二月18th: 正在進行100多項臨床試驗 在中國,日本,泰國和英國分別接受了WHO監測的COVID-19(由SARS-CoV-2引起的疾病)的治療。


二月14th: 生物學家John D. Loike對 科學家提供事實信息的道德義務 向公眾宣傳冠狀病毒。


二月11th: Janssen宣布與美國衛生與公共服務部合作, 加速疫苗的開發 用於新病毒,現已更名為SAR-CoV-2。


二月5th: JAMA發表了一篇文章, 給臨床醫生的重要信息 包括指導評估美國受調查患者(PUI)的標準。


3月XNUMX日: 泰國的醫生報告說,在治療感染的患者中取得令人鼓舞的結果 流感和艾滋病藥物的組合.


31月XNUMX日: 新英格蘭醫學雜誌(New England Journal of Medicine)發表了一份報告,詳細介紹了該病的鑑定,診斷,臨床過程和管理 美國首例2019-nCoV病例.


1月30th: 世衛組織宣布2019-nCoV爆發 國際關注的突發公共衛生事件(PHEIC),同時指出“中國迅速識別出該病毒並共享其序列...這導致診斷工具的迅速發展。”


1月29th: 武漢市首425例患者分析 結果表明,中位年齡為59歲,平均潛伏期為5.2天,R0估計為2.2。

NPR有一個 關鍵醫學術語和定義列表 通常用於媒體對爆發的報導。

加入對話: 與我們分享您的意見 LinkedIn帖子.

作者: 巴里·布寧博士

首次發佈於28年2020月XNUMX日

由於有關武漢冠狀病毒的新聞佔據了頭條新聞,因此很容易引起感動並對新的發展做出反應。 但是,我們認為研究事實並對這一暴發採取更廣泛的看法是有幫助的。 到目前為止,這是我們對新病毒的了解,以及科學界正在如何應對它。

  • 的“ 1”列表圖標 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

    什麼是冠狀病毒(2019-nCoV)?

    2019-nCoV是一種冠狀病毒,傳統上與普通感冒相關的病毒家族。 它在遺傳上與嚴重急性呼吸系統綜合症(SARS)和中東呼吸系統綜合症(MERS)冠狀病毒有最密切的關係。 流行病每天在眼前展現,我們正在學習:

    10月XNUMX日, 發布了2019-nCoV病毒的測序數據。 經中國至少5個獨立實驗室的深度測序和病因學調查,神秘性肺炎的病原被鑑定為新型冠狀病毒。 武漢海鮮市場肺炎病毒分離株武漢-Hu-1完整基因組現已在線保存在 Genbank.

    12月XNUMX日, 世界衛生組織暫時將該新病毒命名為2019年新型冠狀病毒(2019-nCoV)。 在標題為“冠狀病毒:基因組結構,複製和發病機理遺傳細節共享:

    “冠狀病毒的基因組是具有30'-帽結構和5'-poly-A尾巴的單鏈正鏈RNA(+ ssRNA)(〜3kb)。”和“冠狀病毒的基因組大小(〜30kb)為在所有RNA病毒中最大,幾乎是第二大RNA病毒的兩倍。 CoV的巨大基因組大小的維持可能與CoV RTC的特殊功能有關,RTV包含幾種RNA處理酶,例如nsp3的5'-14'外切核糖核酸酶。 3'-5'外切核糖核酸酶在所有RNA病毒中都是CoV特有的,並被證明是RTC的校對部分[12-14]。 序列分析表明,2019-nCoV具有典型的冠狀病毒基因組結構,屬於β冠狀病毒群,其中包括Bat-SARS樣(SL)-ZC45,Bat-SL ZXC21,SARS-CoV和MERS-CoV。 基于冠狀病毒的系統樹,2019-nCov與bat-SL-CoV ZC45和bat-SL-CoV ZXC21密切相關,與SARS-CoV的關係更遠。1

    16月XNUMX日, 實驗室測定 由柏林Charité大學醫院德國感染研究中心的研究人員開發。

    24月XNUMX日, 武漢市41例2019-nCoV感染ICU患者的臨床特徵 出版。 患者患有肺炎,胸部CT表現異常,出現“細胞因子風暴”,血漿中IL2,IL7,IL10,GSCF,IP10,MCP1,MP1A和TNFα含量更高。 這些數據僅來自ICU中的患者,顯然大多數感染者不在ICU中。

    25月XNUMX日, 世界衛生組織(WHO)提供了五種用於診斷武漢市2019-nCoV株的PCR方案和引物。 實時附加信息 可從CDC在線獲得用於實驗室的RT-PCR方案.

    快速生成的2019-nCoV序列和診斷信息現在都在 在Virological.org上公開可用.

    遺傳變異研究似乎暗示了主要 2019-nCoV的自然宿主寄主。 可能涉及重組和傳播 基於遺傳糖蛋白分析的蛇宿主.

    NIAID提供了有關2019-nCoV的當前狀況的平衡摘要:

    病毒的病原體引起的人類疾病暴發的再次爆發,以前被認為是相對良性的,這突顯了傳染病不斷挑戰以及持續防備的重要性。2

  • 的“ 2”列表圖標 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

    它在哪里傳播,如何傳播?

    大部分人類病例都在中國中部湖北省武漢市附近, 首次確定2019-nCoV。 在泰國,日本,台灣,韓國,美國和歐洲也已經確認了少數病例。 儘管據信它最初是從動物傳播給人類的(起源始於武漢市一個封閉的特定市場,通常在這裡出售活體動物),但現在有多個人對人2019-nCoV傳播的例子。

    24月XNUMX日, 報告了830例病例,XNUMX例確認死亡 從2019-nCoV開始,當然並非所有病例都需要報告,因此應將其視為最低數量。

    25月XNUMX日, 世界衛生組織在5-nCoV上發布了2019份情況報告,可在此處在線找到:

    https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/situation-reports

    世衛組織第五次報告包括5-nCoV報告的1320例確診病例。 人與人之間的傳播已有報導,但是絕大多數病例都涉及到中國武漢市的旅行歷史。

    儘管死亡對直接和間接牽涉的人而言顯然是重要的,但爆發的新穎性和未知的軌跡使其具有新聞價值。 鑑於普通流感造成的死亡人數增加了幾個數量級, 科學家們討論了 也許更名為流感。 “我們應該重命名流感; 費城兒童醫院疫苗教育中心主任保羅·奧菲特博士說。

    世界衛生組織說,初步的R0(繁殖數)估計是1.4到2.5,這意味著每個被感染的人可能感染1.4到2.5人。 因此,它正在被傳輸,但是目前它並沒有相對較快地傳播。 當然,確切的繁殖數量是未知的,因為沒有報告所有病例,並且在感染,注意和報告之間存在一定的滯後。 有些型號 建議30,000-nCoV可能有200,000-2019人。

  • 的“ 3”列表圖標 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

    有什麼相似之處?

    2019-nCoV是冠狀病毒家族的一部分,其中包括普通感冒,嚴重急性呼吸道綜合症(SARS)和中東呼吸綜合症(MERS)。 自2012年在沙特阿拉伯首次發現以來,約有34%的報告者被MERS感染死亡(858例中的2494例)。 MERS R0小於XNUMX。 SARS爆發導致8098例確診病例和774例死亡(9.6%)。 SARS的R0為2-5。 SARS的消失與2002-03年一樣迅速。 如果說實話,我們並不總是完全知道為什麼傳染性感染會增加或減少。 通常,我們更擅長確定相關性,而不是因果關係。 這並不奇怪,因為根據定義,傳染性感染是不斷發展的現象。

    研究人員正在使用SARS-CoV和MERS-CoV作為原型評估2019-nCoV的對策。 例如,平台診斷正在迅速調整為包括2019-nCoV,從而可以及早識別和隔離病例。 廣譜抗病毒藥,例如 瑞昔韋,RNA聚合酶抑製劑以及 洛匹那韋/ ritonavir和乾擾素beta在動物模型中顯示出抗MERS-CoV的前景,並且正在與2019-nCoV進行評估。 美國國家過敏和傳染病研究所疫苗研究中心正在研究採用SARS-CoV或MERS-CoV核​​酸疫苗平台方法的疫苗。 “在SARS期間,研究人員從獲得SARS-CoV的基因組序列轉移到了1個月內的DNA疫苗的20期臨床試驗,此後將其他病毒性疾病的時間表縮短至3.25個月。 對於2019-nCoV,他們希望使用信使RNA(mRNA)疫苗技術更快地發展。 類似地,其他研究人員也準備構建病毒載體和亞單位疫苗。2

  • 的“ 4”列表圖標 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

    冠狀病毒疫苗開發

    鑑於以下原因,疫苗(和抗體)的開發很有意義 可能比從頭進行小分子藥物發現更快的時間表,儘管在SARS和MERS中使用了其他抗病毒藥物。 的 華爾街日報報導 幾家製藥商正在爭相開發疫苗,以預防源自中國的新型呼吸道病毒。 Moderna Inc.,Inovio Pharmaceuticals Inc.和Novavax Inc.都計劃開發針對新鑑定的病毒株的疫苗。 澳大利亞昆士蘭大學的研究人員也在嘗試開發一種針對該菌株的疫苗。

    最近, FierceBiotech報告 JNJ和Gilead都參加了加速的冠狀病毒疫苗競賽。

  • 的“ 5”列表圖標 CDD Vault ELN博客文章

    藥物發現合作的經驗教訓?

    如及時分享 醫學博士Catharine I. Paules的NIH JAMA觀點; 希拉里·馬斯頓(Hilary D. Anthony S.Fauci,醫學博士 我們知道2019-nCoV得益於快速的數據共享和國際合作,與MERS和SARS類似:

    “儘管MERS並未引起SARS引起的國際恐慌,但第二種高致病性人畜共患病毒HCoV的出現說明了該病毒家族的威脅。 2017年,世衛組織將SARS-CoV和MERS-CoV列入其優先病原體名單,希望藉此激發研究和製定針對CoV的對策。 世衛組織的行動證明是有先見之明的。 31年2019月10日,中國當局報告了中國武漢市發生的一系列肺炎病例,其中大多數病例報告有暴露於出售許多活體動物的大型海鮮市場的患者。 懷疑另一種致病性人畜共患病毒HCoV的出現,到2020年2019月XNUMX日,上海公共衛生臨床中心和公共衛生學院的研究人員及其合作者向公共數據庫發布了完整的XNUMX-nCoV基因組序列,證明了在爆發反應。”

    出版商喜歡 英國醫學雜誌 (在聲援之際,其他出版商 威利 - 愛思唯爾)與通常的付費內容商業模式相比,正在互聯網上免費提供有關冠狀病毒的信息,以刺激短期全球應對工作並支持長期研究。 《英國醫學雜誌》還免費提供了有關MERS和SARS的信息。

    我們與流行病抗爭的獨特方法之一是利用互聯網對我們物種中每個人的免費,全球性,即時訪問,這是前幾代人無法獲得的。 我們只是摸索了這種機制在響應和研究方面的全部潛力。

    合作的範圍可以從兩位科學家私下共享數據到與國際科學界公開共享數據。 數量本身俱有質量。 在爆發的情況下,公開共享的信息可以使對話與許多大腦(和技術)快速並行地共同發展-當及時共享其他數據,分析和見解時。

    當需要及時響應時,協作共享數據可加快學習速度。

    在商業藥物發現領域中,即時共享有兩個平衡點。 首先,來自各種藥物發現測定的數據是異類的,複雜的,可能需要過程中的元數據才能理解。 其次,由於這種異質性,數據共享需要復雜的工具(即,通過一系列主要和次要的高通量篩選篩查以成千上萬種化合物,九種濃度運行的結構活性關係,一式三份,這並非一帆風順說在Facebook上分享一個贊)。 儘管如此,合作可能是藥物發現效率實現量子飛躍的關鍵。

    開放數據(和思想)共享是科學文獻的目的。 隨著印刷機的問世,科學文獻已成為一種更加全球化的現象。

    今天,我們把互聯網視為理所當然,但是,在全球範圍內即時共享信息的能力可以說是我們物種最基本的範式轉變。 我們不再是螞蟻,而是一個蟻群。 我們可以從新興的集體智慧藝術中學習。 我們的模因以www的速度旅行以協調我們的集體思維,這是我們相對於古老的無情突變,選擇和水平基因轉移機制的競爭優勢。 我們口袋裡的王牌是集體學習和即時分享集體學習的能力。 原核生物具有固定的學習和信息傳遞速度(在每種情況下都不同,但通常在隱喻上來說)。 將我們的情報與互聯網相結合的人類具有無限的,加速的學習潛力。

    加速學習的下一個階段是通過基於Web的平台將計算機和算法集成在一起。 不只是我們自己 CDD Vault 它平衡了通過安全的數據共享來保護知識產權,同時又促進了最大程度的協作……但所有基於網絡的連接科學數據共享平台(其中大多數由我們的政府資助的公共資金共同贊助,例如 考研, 基因庫, 腦電圖, 凱格PubChem數據庫,僅提及眾多基於網絡的影響力科學數據sharinig平台中的少數幾個)。 而且,基於社區的工作非常有影響力,例如, 維基百科 (這是同等重要的表弟 DBpedia)。 我們可以並且將會 更好地合作 隨著時間的推移。

    需要加快對多種病毒性疾病的數據共享和發現,包括2019-nCoV:

    “由於沒有有效的治療方法或疫苗,應對嚴重的冠狀病毒感染的最佳方法是控制感染源,及早診斷,報告,隔離,支持治療,並及時發布流行信息,以避免不必要的恐慌。 對於個人而言,良好的個人衛生習慣,佩戴口罩,通風並避免擠迫的地方將有助於防止CoV感染。1

    值得一提的是2019-nCoV診斷套件的快速發展,其中許多已經 現已.

    與對上一次埃博拉疫情以及此2019-nCoV疫情的應對措施一樣,我們將需要考慮 監視和響應的一般解決方案。 我們唯一可以確定的是,下一次會有所不同。 作為回應,我們可以通過與網絡進行更廣泛的協作來使每次新的流行病中的策略和工具變得更好。

    在不久的將來,不難想像出現新興數據和協議的時代 公平 (可查找,可訪問,可互操作,可重用)標準化格式,用於並行計算機分析。3 Bioportal已經標準化,精確地 新冠狀病毒的定義術語。 子孫後代將能夠更好,更快,更長期,更明智地協作。4 我們都在同一條船。

  • 參考

    1. 冠狀病毒:基因組結構,複製和發病機理。 Chen Y,Liu Q,Guo D.J Med Virol。 2020年22月10.1002日。doi:25681 / jmv.31967327。 評論。 PMID:XNUMX
    2. 冠狀病毒感染不僅僅是普通感冒。 Paules CI,Marston HD,Fauci AS。 賈瑪 2020年23月10.1001日。doi:2020.0757 / jama.31971553。 PMID:XNUMX。
    3. 科學數據管理和管理的公平指導原則。 威爾金森,M.,杜夢鐵,M.,阿爾伯斯貝格,I. 等。 科學數據 3,160018(2016)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/sdata.2016.18
    4. Long Now Foundation建議我們使用日期02020來考慮更長遠的時間,而不是更傳統的2020(http://longnow.org/).

這個網誌是由 CDD Vault 社區。 CDD Vault 是託管的 藥物發現信息學 安全管理私人和外部生化數據的平台。 它提供了核心功能,包括 化學註冊, 結構活動關係, 化學品清單電子實驗室筆記本 能力。

協作藥物發現(CDD)保險櫃徽標

Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2): Timeline and Updates

Scientific Facts for Better Understanding of the Epidemic

Updates

February 25th: An NIH clinical trial to treat COVID-19 with the investigational antiviral drug remdesivir has begun in Nebraska.


February 24th: Dr. James Hamblin discussed the outlook for vaccine development and how the low fatality rate of COVID-19 makes it hard to contain.


February 21st: COVID-19 primarily transmits from person to person via respiratory droplets, and there is no definitive evidence for fecal or airborne transmission. Asymptomatic carrier transmission has been suspected.


February 18th: More than 100 clinical trials an underway in China, Japan, Thailand, and UK to treat COVID-19 (the illness caused by SARS-CoV-2) under WHO monitoring.


February 14th: Biologist John D. Loike wrote an opinion on scientists' ethical obligation to provide factual information to educate the general public about the coronavirus.


February 11th: Janssen announced a collaboration with US Department of Health & Human Services to accelerate the development of a vaccine for the new virus, now renamed SAR-CoV-2.


February 5th: JAMA published an article with important information for clinicians including criteria to guide the evaluation of Patients Under Investigation (PUI) in the US.


February 3rd: Doctors in Thailand reported promising results in treating infected patients with a combination of flu and HIV medications.


January 31st: the New England Journal of Medicine published a report detailing the identification, diagnosis, clinical course, and management of the first US case of 2019-nCoV.


January 30th: WHO declared the 2019-nCoV outbreak a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC), while noting that "China quickly identified the virus and shared its sequence...which has resulted in the rapid development of diagnostic tools."


January 29th: Analysis of the first 425 patients in Wuhan showed that the median age was 59, the mean incubation period was 5.2 days, and the R0 was estimated at 2.2.

NPR has a list of key medical terminologies and definitions commonly used in media coverage of the outbreak.

Johns Hopkins University has a useful dashboard that tracks the total number of known cases of COVID-19 globally.

Join the conversation: share your comments with us on this LinkedIn post.

Author: Barry Bunin, PhD

First published on January 28th, 2020

As news about the Wuhan Coronavirus dominates the headlines, it is easy to get emotional and react to every latest development. However, we believe it is helpful to examine the facts and take a broader view on this outbreak. Here is what we know about the new virus so far, and how the scientific community is working to counter it.

  • "1" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

    What is the Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)?

    2019-nCoV is a Coronavirus, the family of viruses traditionally associated with the common mild cold. It is genetically most related to, yet distinct from, the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) and the Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) Coronaviruses.  We are learning as the epidemic unfolds daily in front of our eyes:

    On January 10th, sequencing data for the 2019-nCoV virus were released. The causative agent of the mystery pneumonia was identified as a novel coronavirus by deep sequencing and etiological investigations by at least 5 independent laboratories of China. The Wuhan seafood market pneumonia virus isolate Wuhan-Hu-1 complete genome is now deposited online in Genbank.

    On January 12th, the World Health Organization temporarily named the new virus as 2019 novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV). In a paper titled “Coronaviruses: genome structure, replication, and pathogenesis” the genetic details were shared:

    “The genome of CoVs is a single-stranded positive-sense RNA (+ssRNA) (~30kb) with 5’-cap structure and 3’-poly-A tail.” and “The genome size of CoV (~30kb) is the largest among all RNA viruses, which is almost two times larger than that of the second largest RNA viruses. The maintenance of the giant genome size of CoVs might be related to special features of the CoV RTC, which contains several RNA processing enzymes such as the 3’-5’ exoribonuclease of nsp14. The 3’-5’ exoribonuclease is unique to CoVs among all RNA viruses, and proved to function as a proofreading part of the RTC [12-14]. Sequence analysis showed that the 2019-nCoV possesses a typical genome structure of coronavirus and belongs to the cluster of betacoronaviruses that includes Bat-SARS-like (SL)-ZC45, Bat-SL ZXC21, SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV. Based on the phylogenetic tree of CoVs, 2019-nCov is more closely related to bat-SL-CoV ZC45 and bat-SL-CoV ZXC21 and more distantly related to SARS-CoV.1

    On January 16th, a laboratory assay had been developed by researchers at the German Centre for Infection Research at the Charité university hospital in Berlin.

    On January 24th, the clinical features of 41 ICU patients infected with 2019-nCoV in Wuhan China were published. The patients had pneumonia with abnormal findings on chest CT and a “cytokine storm” with higher plasma levels of IL2, IL7, IL10, GSCF, IP10, MCP1, MP1A and TNFα. These data are from just the patient in the ICU, obviously the majority of people infected are not in the ICU.

    On January 25th, five PCR protocols and primers for diagnosis of the Wuhan City 2019-nCoV strains are available from the World Health Organization (WHO). Additional information on real time RT-PCR protocols for laboratories are available online from the CDC.

    The rapidly generated 2019-nCoV sequence and diagnostic information are both now publicly available on Virological.org.

    Genetic variation studies seem to suggest the main host reservoir in nature for 2019-nCoV likely is the bat. Possible recombination and transmission may have involved snake hosts based on genetic glycoprotein analyses.

    The NIAID provided a balanced summary of the current state of affairs with regards to 2019-nCoV:

    "The emergence of yet another outbreak of human disease caused by a pathogen from a viral family formerly thought to be relatively benign underscores the perpetual challenge of emerging infectious diseases and the importance of sustained preparedness.2

  • "2" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

    Where and how is it spreading?

    The majority of cases in humans are around the city of Wuhan, in central Hubei province in China, where 2019-nCoV was first identified. A limited number of cases have also been confirmed in Thailand, Japan, Taiwan, South Korea, USA, and Europe. Although it was believed to be transmitted initially from animal to human (with the origin beginning at a now closed, specific marketplace in Wuhan City where live animals are routinely sold), there are now multiple examples of human-to-human 2019-nCoV transmission. 

    On January 24th, there were 830 reported cases and twenty six confirmed deaths from 2019-nCoV, of course not all cases are necessarily reported so these should be considered the minimal numbers.  

    On January 25th, the WHO has posted 5 Situational Reports on 2019-nCoV which can be found online here:

    https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/situation-reports

    The 5th WHO report included 1320 confirmed cases reported for 2019-nCoV. Human to human transmission has been reported, however the vast majority of cases are related to travel history to Wuhan City, China.

    Although the deaths are obviously significant to those directly and indirectly involved, the novelty and unknown trajectory of the outbreak is what makes it newsworthy. Given there are orders of magnitude more deaths from common flu, scientists have discussed perhaps rebranding Influenza. “We should rename influenza; call it XZ-47 virus, or something scarier,” said Dr. Paul Offit, director of the Vaccine Education Center at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

    The World Health Organization said that the preliminary R0 (reproduction number) estimate is 1.4 to 2.5, meaning that every person infected could infect between 1.4 and 2.5 people. So it is being transmitted, but currently it is not spreading relatively fast. The exact reproduction number is of course unknown, since all cases are not reported and there is a lag between infection, noticing, and reporting. Some models suggest there may be 30,000 - 200,000 humans with 2019-nCoV.

  • "3" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

    What is it similar to?

    2019-nCoV is part of a family of coronaviruses that includes the common cold, severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), and Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS). Since first identified in Saudi Arabia in 2012 around 34% of people reported as infected with MERS have died (858 of 2494 cases). MERS R0 is less than one. The SARS outbreak led to 8098 identified cases and 774 deaths (9.6%). SARS had an R0 of 2-5.  SARS disappeared as quickly as it appeared in 2002-03.  If we are honest about it, we don’t always entirely know why contagious infections grow or decline. Often we are better at determining correlation, rather than causation.   This is not surprising, as contagious infections are by definition, evolving phenomena.  

    Researchers are evaluating countermeasures for 2019-nCoV using SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV as prototypes. For example, platform diagnostics are being rapidly adapted to include 2019-nCoV, allowing early recognition and isolation of cases. Broad-spectrum antivirals, such as remdesivir, an RNA polymerase inhibitor, as well as lopinavir/ritonavir and interferon beta have shown promise against MERS-CoV in animal models and are being assessed versus 2019-nCoV. Vaccines, with nucleic acid vaccine platform approaches used for SARS-CoV or MERS-CoV, are being pursued at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Vaccine Research Center. “During SARS, researchers moved from obtaining the genomic sequence of SARS-CoV to a phase 1 clinical trial of a DNA vaccine in 20 months and have since compressed that timeline to 3.25 months for other viral diseases. For 2019-nCoV, they hope to move even faster, using messenger RNA (mRNA) vaccine technology. Other researchers are similarly poised to construct viral vectors and subunit vaccines.2

  • "4" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

    Coronavirus Vaccine Development

    Vaccine (and antibody) development makes sense, given the potentially faster timeline than de novo small molecule drug discovery, although other antivirals have been used in SARS and MERS. The Wall Street Journal reported several drugmakers are racing to develop vaccines that could protect against the new respiratory virus originating in China. Moderna Inc., Inovio Pharmaceuticals Inc. and Novavax Inc. all plan to develop vaccines against the newly identified viral strain. Researchers at the University of Queensland in Australia are also trying to develop a vaccine against the strain.  

    More recently, FierceBiotech reported that both JNJ and Gilead have jumped into the accelerated Coronavirus Vaccine race.

  • "5" list icon for CDD Vault ELN Blog Posts

    Lessons for Drug Discovery Collaboration?

    As shared in a timely NIH JAMA Viewpoint from Catharine I. Paules, MD; Hilary D. Marston, MD, MPH; Anthony S. Fauci, MD we know 2019-nCoV is similar to MERS and SARS thanks to rapid data sharing and international collaboration:

    “While MERS has not caused the international panic seen with SARS, the emergence of this second, highly pathogenic zoonotic HCoV illustrates the threat posed by this viral family. In 2017, the WHO placed SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV on its Priority Pathogen list, hoping to galvanize research and the development of countermeasures against CoVs. The action of the WHO proved prescient. On December 31, 2019, Chinese authorities reported a cluster of pneumonia cases in Wuhan, China, most of which included patients who reported exposure to a large seafood market selling many species of live animals. Emergence of another pathogenic zoonotic HCoV was suspected, and by January 10, 2020, researchers from the Shanghai Public Health Clinical Center & School of Public Health and their collaborators released a full genomic sequence of 2019-nCoV to public databases, exemplifying prompt data sharing in outbreak response.”

    Publishers like the British Medical Journal (and in a moment of solidarity other publishers like Wiley and Elsevier) are providing information on the Coronavirus freely on the internet to spur short-term global response efforts and support long-term research, in contrast to their usual paid-content business models. The British Medical Journal has also made information freely available on MERS and SARS.

    One of the unique ways we can combat epidemics, not available to previous generations, is to leverage the free, global, instantaneous access to everyone across our species via the Internet. We have only scratched the surface of the full potential of this mechanism for both response and research.

    Collaboration can range from two scientists sharing data privately to publicly shared data with the international scientific community. Quantity has a quality all its own. In the case of an outbreak, publicly shared information allows the conversation to co-evolve with many brains (and technologies) rapidly in parallel - when additional data, analyses, and insights are also shared in a timely manner.

    When a timely response is needed, collaboratively sharing data allows the rate of learning to accelerate.

    Within the commercial drug discovery arena, there are two counterbalances to immediate sharing. First, the data from diverse drug discovery assays are heterogeneous, complex, and may require metadata from procedures to understand. Second, the data sharing, due to this heterogeneity requires sophisticated tools (i.e. sharing structure activity relationships from a series of primary and secondary high-throughout put screens run on hundreds of thousands of compounds, at nine concentrations, in triplicate is not as trivial as say sharing a like on Facebook). Nonetheless, collaboration may be the key to quantum leaps in efficiency in drug discovery.

    Open data (and idea) sharing is the purpose of the scientific literature. Scientific literature became a more global phenomena with the advent of the printing press.

    We take the Internet for granted today, however the ability to instantaneously share information around the world is arguably the most fundamental paradigm shift for our species. We are no longer ants, but an ant colony. We can learn from the art of emergent, collective intelligence. Our memes traveling at the speed of the www to coordinate our collective thinking is our competitive advantage vs the ancient relentless mechanisms of mutation, selection, and horizontal gene transfer. The ace in our pocket is the ability to collectively learn and instantaneously share collective learnings. Prokaryotes have a fixed velocity of learning and information transfer (different in every case, but metaphorically speaking in general). Humans combining our intelligence with the Internet have the potential for uncapped, accelerated learning.

    The next level of accelerated learning is integrating computers and algorithms together, via web-based platforms. Not only our own CDD Vault which balances protecting intellectual property through secure data sharing while promoting maximum collaboration...but all the connecting web-based scientific data sharing platforms (with the majority sponsored by our publicly funded, government coordinated efforts such as PubMed, GenBank, ChEMBL, KEGG, and PubChem, to mention just a handful of many impactful, web-based scientific data sharinig platforms). And there are highly impactful, community based efforts such as, well, Wikipedia (and it’s equally important cousin DBpedia). We can and will collaborate better over time.

    There is a need for accelerated data sharing and discovery for a number of viral diseases, including 2019-nCoV:

    “As there is no effective therapeutics or vaccines, the best way to deal with severe infections of CoVs is to control the source of infection, early diagnosis, reporting, isolation, supportive treatments, and timely publishing epidemic information to avoid unnecessary panic. For individuals, good personal hygiene, fitted mask, ventilation and avoiding crowded places will help preventing CoVs infection.1

    It is worth mentioning the rapid development of 2019-nCoV Diagnostic kits, a number of which are already now available.

    As with the response to the last Ebola epidemic and after this 2019-nCoV epidemic, we will need to consider general solutions to surveillance and response. The only thing we know for sure is that next time will be slightly different. In response our tactics and tools can get better with each new epidemic via greater, web-coordinated collaboration.

    In the near future, it is not difficult to imagine a time when emerging data and protocols are represented in FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable) standardized formats for parallel computer analyses.3 Bioportal already has standardized, precisely defined terms for the new Coronavirus. Future generations will be able to collaborate better, faster, longer term, and smarter.4 We’re all in this together.

  • References

    1. Coronaviruses: genome structure, replication, and pathogenesis. Chen Y, Liu Q, Guo D. J Med Virol. 2020 Jan 22. doi: 10.1002/jmv.25681. Review. PMID: 31967327
    2. Coronavirus Infections-More Than Just the Common Cold. Paules CI, Marston HD, Fauci AS. JAMA. 2020 Jan 23. doi: 10.1001/jama.2020.0757. PMID: 31971553.
    3. The FAIR Guiding Principles for scientific data management and stewardship. Wilkinson, M., Dumontier, M., Aalbersberg, I. et al. Sci Data 3, 160018 (2016). https://doi.org/10.1038/sdata.2016.18
    4. The Long Now Foundation suggests we use the date 02020 to think longer term, rather than the more conventional 2020 (http://longnow.org/).

This blog is authored by members of the CDD Vault community. CDD Vault is a hosted drug discovery informatics platform that securely manages both private and external biological and chemical data. It provides core functionality including chemical registrationstructure activity relationshipchemical inventory, and electronic lab notebook capabilities.

Collaborative Drug Discovery (CDD) Vault Logo