CDD聚焦採訪R2M Pharma創始人兼首席執行官Julio Medina

R2M Pharma創始人兼首席執行官Julio Medina博士

r2m藥品徽標 朱利奧·麥地那(Julio Medina)是該公司的創始人兼首席執行官 R2M製藥。 在加入R2M Pharma之前,他曾在ORIC Pharmaceuticals擔任藥物發現副總裁,在Amgen擔任研究執行總監,負責領導南舊金山的藥物化學小組。 在此之前,他曾在Tularik擔任化學總監。 Medina博士已成功領導有關蛋白質-蛋白質相互作用,激酶,GPCR激動劑和拮抗劑,核受體和酶標靶的計劃,以識別腫瘤,免疫學和代謝性疾病治療領域中的9臨床開發化合物。 他是83出版物的合著者,也是50已發布和正在申請的專利的共同發明人。 他在哥倫比亞大學完成了博士後研究,並獲得了博士學位。 在邁阿密大學。

R2M Pharma首席執行官Julio Medina

惠特尼·史密斯: 我們和南舊金山R2M Pharma的Julio Medina一起在這裡。 嗨,朱利奧,謝謝您今天的時間。 你能告訴我一些你的背景嗎?

朱利奧·麥地那(Julio Medina): 是。 我最初是一名藥物化學家,多年來一直從事藥物發現研究。 我的職業生涯始於灣區一家名為Tularik的生物技術公司,然後我轉到了安進。 兩年半前,我創辦了R25M Pharma。

WS: 大! R2M的背景是什麼?

JM: 我們專注於小分子候選藥物的優化和發現。 我們與其他生物技術公司合作,以驗證並加快其藥物發現計劃。

WS: 您是這些公司的合同研究組織嗎?

JM: 我們確實充當合同研究組織。 在某些情況下,我們投資於那些公司以參與項目的風險/回報。 我們還致力於我們自己的程序。

WS: 混合的商業模式?

JM: 是的,這是一個混合模型。 我們在化合物優化階段進行小分子的設計和合成。 我們進行了一些支持化合物優化的體外測定。 我們還提供DMPK以及從命中驗證到IND歸檔所需的一切服務。

WS: 因此,您是協作者值得信賴的合作夥伴,不僅可以幫助他們生成數據,還可以幫助他們了解所生成的數據。

JM: 那就對了。 我們與合作夥伴一起制定他們的研究計劃。 然後,我們幫助他們執行該計劃。

WS: 精彩。 您認為R2M在兩年,三年,五年後會是什麼樣? 您的目標和希望是什麼?

JM: 這是在幫助我們的合作夥伴創造價值的同時,我們還建立了R2M作為一流研究中心的聲譽。 正如我提到的,我們與其他公司合作以製定他們的研究策略。 我們幫助他們以節省成本和時間的方式驗證目標。 我們與他們一起以比他們創建自己的基礎結構來開始執行項目更快,更具成本效益的方式驗證他們的早期項目。 此外,他們還獲得了經驗豐富的研究團隊的額外好處,該團隊已經成立,並且已經在執行其研究計劃的其他項目中進行了合作。 R2M的未來將是我們幫助許多早期項目和多個計劃進入臨床試驗的未來,並擁有在建立可持續研究機構的同時為合作夥伴創造價值的良好記錄。

WS: 持久的業務模型。 如今,有些公司更多地是在建造並出售它…

JM: 我們有一個長期的願景,那就是建立一個穩定的研究平台。 我們不想建立短期使用的研究平台。 在我看來,這是昂貴的,而且沒有時間效率。 對於我們和我們的合作夥伴,我們希望專注於製定合理的研究計劃並在該計劃上執行,而不是專注於構建基礎架構。 這就是R2M的代表-研究到市場。 我們希望創建一個可持續的研究平台。

WS: 您能否談談這個研究平台的主要要素? 我將稍微過渡到如何最終使用R2M。 您能否談談您認為穩定的研究平台包括的內容-它應該滿足的三到五個主要需求?

JM: 是的,對我來說,一個穩定的研究平台就是一個可以通過以專業,及時且經濟高效的方式推進其客戶計劃,持續為其客戶創造價值的平台。 它需要擁有經過最新技術培訓的人員,專業人士並且喜歡他們的工作。 他們日復一日地這樣做。 他們尋求最佳實踐,並且始終專注於持續改進。 我們希望創建一個人們可以專注於自己所做工作的研究環境。 他們可以使用當前最好的方法,但要密切關注可能產生積極影響並促進其工作的新技術,因此他們可以繼續以科學家的身份成長。 然後,我們可以利用他們的專業知識和知識來幫助剛剛開始其早期項目的公司。

作為其中的一部分,我們需要確定一個信息學平台,該平台可以以透明且易於使用的方式在公司的整個生命週期內實現數據共享。 那就是與之合作的地方 CDD Vault 發揮作用。 我們喜歡的一件事是它在雲中。 我們以及合作夥伴都可以輕鬆訪問它。 由於我們的合作非常靈活,因此有時我們會生成生物學數據並創建化學物質。 在某些情況下,我們的合作夥伴會對我們合成的分子進行測試。 使用時 CDD Vault,他們可以輸入生物學數據,而我們可以創建分子,反之亦然,所有這些都發生在雲中。 非常好。

WS: 好的。 這是對您在系統中尋找的內容的高級概括。 你能說說整個旅程嗎? 您是否有使用其他信息系統的經驗?

JM: 絕對。 正如我之前提到的,我在生物技術行業工作了超過25年。 在此過程中,我評估了不同的系統。 對我們來說,選擇的主要因素 CDD Vault 易於實現-系統的直觀性和易用性。 它提供了我們需要的所有關鍵要素。 關鍵之一是 複合註冊 和庫存,以及如何將其與捕獲和 可視化生物數據。 同樣,在不同公司之間共享信息的難易程度也是關鍵。 易於實現,易於使用,非常直觀。 有時您會獲得功能非常強大的系統,但是只有一個受過該系統所有“內外”訓練的人才能使用它。 我們大多數人都喜歡易於使用的系統,因此不需要花費大量的學習過程即可使用它或從中獲得價值。 這是我們喜歡的事情之一 CDD Vault.

另一件事是數據庫提供了很大的靈活性,這使得很容易與程序需求集成。 我的意思是,例如,當我們註冊化合物時,我們也希望擁有NMR光譜和HPLC跡線。 對於我們來說,不僅上傳NMR的PDF文件非常容易,而且我們還可以將其鏈接到FID跡線,以便在需要其他信息時可以返回並重新處理數據。 對我們來說,再次,擁有易於實施,易於使用並提供所有集成功能的系統對我們很重要。

WS: 當您在尋找新技術時,無論是信息技術,實驗室設備還是其他什麼,您都在經歷一個過程嗎? 我要求是為了幫助其他公司了解人們所做的事情,以便找到適合他們需求的解決方案。 一個相關的問題是:該搜索是否有任何驚喜? 有什麼讓您感到非常高興或使您感到沮喪或兩者兼而有之的嗎?

JM: 好吧,這是一個很好的問題。 當我們進行這樣的搜索時,您會看到以前使用過的內容,並從此開始—對以前使用過的內容喜歡和不喜歡的內容。 您依賴的另一件事是您的網絡。 口碑很重要,尤其是在科學界,因為作為科學家,我們傾向於非常批判……

WS: …是的,我的家人沒有註意到…

JM: []對於我們喜歡和不喜歡的東西,我們往往非常挑剔和直言不諱。 我們也往往要求很高。 因為,這就是使我們得以改進的過程。 這是改進過程的一部分,確定缺陷,然後建立克服缺陷的機會。 每當我們研究技術時,這就是我們參與的過程。 我們以前用過什麼? 我們喜歡它但不喜歡它的一件事是什麼? 有什麼可以提供相對於此的優勢? 我們提出這些問題,以便找出可以提供優勢的事物。 我們像其他人一樣進行研究,但我們也依賴網絡...

WS: …口口相傳…

JM: …口口相傳,以試圖找出對他人有用的方法。

WS: 太棒了 這很有意義。 從我們作為供應商的角度來看,我們看到許多人在創辦公司並尋求新技術(如果以前沒有走過這條路)時會面臨一場艱苦的戰鬥。 我們經常嘗試找到聯繫人,與人交流的方法,而這些對話(“這對我有用,對我卻無效”)非常有用。

搜索過程中有什麼讓您感到驚訝的嗎? 有什麼讓您感到高興或沮喪的嗎? 同樣,不一定要使用信息學系統,而是要嘗試從頭開始建立公司。

JM: 不。從頭開始建立公司是非常有益的,而且很有趣。 顯然,挑戰很多。 但是-哦,我的上帝-多麼偉大的旅程! 很好,很有收穫,我每天都在享受機會。

WS: 就您的原始願景而言,採用我們的系統或其他系統會對您產生什麼影響? 您是否發現執行很簡單?

JM: 我喜歡的一件事是易於實現。 這絕對是非常簡單和直接的。 部分是由於系統本身。 我們談到了它可以在雲中運行的事實。 事實上,當您進行演示時,您正在使用的版本與將要獲得的版本類似。 很快就會發現。 這也是可以很快實現的東西。 這些是技術方面。

從人的角度來看,另一個真正有意義的部分是整個過程有多麼容易。 很多業務都取決於人員,完成協議和文書工作是多麼容易。 那很好。

WS: 謝謝,這是很棒的反饋。 就我們的系統而言,是否有您想做得更好的事情,或者將來想要完成的事情是您今天無法做到的?

JM: 當我們開始使用該系統時,我們專注於化合物註冊。 由此,我們建立了將信息添加到復合註冊的功能。 然後,我們開始捕獲生物學數據。 處理不同項目的生物學數據的需求需要很大的靈活性,並且可能非常複雜。 例如,某些檢測只是在尋找直接的抑製作用,而某些檢測則是在尋找激活和部分激動作用-同樣,您可能希望能夠跟踪多個對照。 因此,捕獲和處理數據集以便您可以將閱讀器中的信息帶入Vault本身並由Vault處理是好的。 團隊和 CDD Vault 非常擅長積極地尋求改進的地方並推出新版本的Vault,以解決這些建議。

我想看到的是什麼 CDD Vault將來是專門用於捕獲體內數據的部分。 我認為我們在看到的進展方面做得很好。 例如,從化學角度來看,當我捕獲實驗室筆記本的ELN時,我認為有一個模板可以讓您以模板的方式填充所製備化合物的PK數據-清除率,口服生物利用度,或分發量-這樣就可以輕鬆導入數據了。

WS: 您想看到這種“打包”嗎?

JM: 另外,就像ELN一樣。 我認為,顯然,您的重點是主要功能,化學和生物學數據。 現在,您將從化學的角度著眼於如何放置電子筆記本,並像您所說的那樣擁有模板和字典以及化學庫。 分子量和密度以及所有這些都是自動導入的。

順便說一句,人們喜歡 將類似TLC的圖片放入電子筆記本。 所有這些都很容易完成。 現在,如果我們可以繼續以一種簡單的方式捕獲DMPK數據,則可以重新生成從CRO的excel電子表格中獲得的DMPK數據。 我們如何以可以附加到復合註冊的方式來捕獲它?

WS: 好的,太好了。 這非常好。 您想在過程,旅程方面希望與他人分享的其他課程嗎?

JM: 我想,保持思想開放很重要。 我非常注重目標,一開始我就抵制 電子筆記本 因為我認為沒有什麼比在實驗室裡擺在我面前的筆記本更快或更簡單的了。 在嘗試了電子筆記本之後,我了解到合規性更好,共享數據明顯更容易,並且您以對整個團隊有用的方式捕獲信息和存儲信息的能力也大大提高了。 我從思考“這會讓我慢下來”變成“哦,不,這實際上是必須具備的”。

WS: 除了您在這裡進行的研究之外,您發現有趣的科學方面的事情嗎? 就像,“哇,看看,那很酷。”

JM: 很多事情 []。 您知道科學使我興奮的是它一直在發展。 今天最讓我興奮的是所有正在開發中的新藥和新技術及其在個性化醫學中的應用前景。 這個概念已經存在了一段時間,但是隨著多種治療方案的可用越來越多,人們將重點放在確定哪些患者可以從特定治療中受益最大。

例如,我們看到越來越多的診斷試劑盒可供醫生用來識別可能導致疾病和診斷適當治療的患者體內的酶或酶突變。 因此,僅對可能受益的患者進行治療,並減少接觸不太可能帶來益處且可能有害的藥物的患者數量。 我們越來越看到個性化醫療正在發揮作用,這確實令人興奮!

WS: 謝謝您的寶貴時間,這真是太好了。 我真的很感激。

JM: 謝謝。

有趣的瑣事:當我們成為R2M Pharma的Tien Widjaja博士的CDD帖子時, 里程碑百萬分之一的用戶登錄到 CDD Vault 四月份,2019!

Skip to content
en English

CDD Spotlight Interview with Julio Medina, Founder and CEO, R2M Pharma

Dr. Julio Medina, Founder & CEO, R2M Pharma

r2m pharma logo Julio Medina is the Founder and CEO of R2M Pharma. Prior to R2M Pharma, he worked at ORIC Pharmaceuticals as the Vice President of Drug Discovery and at Amgen as an Executive Director of Research, where he was responsible for leading the Medicinal Chemistry group in South San Francisco. Previously, he held the position of Director of Chemistry at Tularik. Dr. Medina has successfully led programs on protein-protein interactions, kinases, GPCRs agonist and antagonists, nuclear receptors and enzymatic targets to identify 9 clinical development compounds in oncology, immunology, and metabolic disease therapeutic areas. He is a co-author on 83 publications and a co-inventor on 50 issued and pending patents. He did his post-doctoral studies at Columbia University and received his Ph.D. at the University of Miami.

Julio Medina, CEO R2M Pharma

Whitney Smith: We're here with Julio Medina at R2M Pharma in South San Francisco.   Hi Julio, thank you for your time today. Could you tell me a little bit about your background?

Julio Medina: Yes. I started as a medicinal chemist, and I’ve been doing drug discovery research for over 25 years. My career started here in the Bay Area at a biotech company called Tularik, then I moved on to Amgen. Two and a half years ago, I started R2M Pharma.

WS: Great!  What's the background for R2M?

JM: We’re focused on the optimization and discovery of small molecule drug candidates. We work with other biotech companies to validate and accelerate their drug discovery programs.

WS: You act as a contract research organization for those companies?

JM: We do act as a contract research organization. In some cases, we invest in those companies to participate in the risk/reward of the projects. We also work on our own programs.

WS: A mixed business model?

JM: Yes, it’s a mixed model. We do the design and synthesis of small molecule during the compound optimization phase. We do some of the in vitro assays that are needed to support the compound optimization. We also help with the DMPK and anything needed from the hit validation to IND filing.

WS: So, you're a trusted partner for your collaborators, helping them generate data as well as helping them understand the data that's generated.

JM: That's right. We work with our partners to put together their research plan. Then, we help them execute that plan.

WS: Wonderful. What do you think R2M is going to be like in two years, three years, five years? What's your goal and hope?

JM: It’s a mix of helping our partners to create value while we establish R2M’s reputation as a first-class research center. As I mentioned, we work with other companies to put together their research strategy. We help them validate their targets in a way that is cost and time effective. We work with them to validate their early projects in a way that is faster and more cost effective than if they created their own infrastructure to start executing their projects. In addition, they get the added benefit of an experienced research team that is in place and has worked together on other projects executing their research plans. The future for R2M would be one where we have helped advance a number of early stage projects and multiple programs into clinical trials and have a track record of creating value for our partners while establishing a sustainable research organization.

WS: A persistent business model. Some companies today are more of a build it and sell it…

JM: We have a long-term vision, which is to get to a stable research platform. We don't want to build the research platform for short-term use. In my view, that is costly and not time efficient. For us and our partners, we want to be focused on putting together a sound research plan and executing on that plan, rather than focusing on building an infrastructure. That's what R2M stands for — Research to Market. We want to create a sustainable research platform.

WS: Can you talk about the primary element or elements of this research platform? I was going to transition a little bit into how we ended up working with R2M. Could you talk about what you think a stable research platform consists of — sort of the big three to five needs that it should fulfill?

JM: Yes, so a stable research platform, to me, is a platform that consistently creates value for its clients by advancing their programs in a professional, timely, and cost-effective manner. It needs to have people who have been trained in the state-of-the-art, who are professionals, and who like what they do. They do it day in and day out. They look for the best practices and are always focused on continual improvement. We want to create that research environment where people can focus on what they do. They can use the current best approaches but keep an eye out for new technology that could have a positive impact and facilitate their work, so they can continue to grow as scientists. Then, we can channel their expertise and knowledge to help companies that are just getting started on their early projects.

As a part of that, we needed to identify an informatics platform that could enable data sharing for the lifetime of our company, in a way that was transparent and easy to use. That's where the collaboration with CDD Vault came into play. One of the things that we like is that it is in the cloud. It's very easily accessible by us, as well as by our partners. Because our collaborations are very flexible, sometimes we generate the biological data as well as create the chemical matter. In some cases, our partners do the testing on the molecules that we synthesize. When working with CDD Vault, they can be inputting the biological data and we can be creating the molecules or vice versa, and all that happens in the cloud. That's good.

WS: Okay. That's a great high-level description of what you were looking for in a system. Can you talk through the journey? Did you have experience with other informatics systems?

JM: Absolutely. I've been working in the biotech industry for over 25 years, as I mentioned before. I have evaluated different systems during that journey. For us, the main factor in choosing CDD Vault was the ease of implementation — how intuitive and easy the system is to use. It provides all the key pieces that we need. One of the key pieces is the compound registration and the inventory, and how it puts that together with the capturing and the visualization of the biological data. Also, the ease of sharing information across different companies is key. The ease of implementation, the ease of use, is very intuitive. Sometimes you get systems that are very powerful, but only one person who is trained with all the “ins and outs” of that system can use it. Most of us like systems where it's so easy to use that it doesn't require a big learning process to use it or get value from it. That is one of the things we like about CDD Vault.

The other thing is that the database provides a lot of flexibility, which makes it very easy to integrate with the needs of the programs. What I mean by that is, for example, when we register compounds, we like to have the NMR spectra and the HPLC traces available as well. It’s very easy for us to not only upload a PDF file of the NMR, but we can also link it to the FID traces so that we can go back and re-process the data if we need additional information. For us, again, having a system that is easy to implement, easy to use, and that provides all the integrated capabilities is important to us.

WS:  When you're searching for new technology, whether it's informatics technology, or lab equipment, or whatever, do you have a process that you go through? I’m asking in order to maybe help other companies understand what folks do in order to get to a solution that fits their needs. A related question is: were there any surprises in that search? Are there things that made you very happy or made you very frustrated or both?

JM: Well, that's a great question. When we go into a search like this, you look at what you have used before and you start with that — what you liked and disliked about what you used before. The other thing that you rely on is your network. Word-of-mouth is important, especially in the scientific community, because as scientists we tend to be very critical…

WS: …yeah, my family hasn’t noticed that…

JM: [laughs] We tend to be very critical and very vocal about what we like and what we don't like. We tend to be very demanding as well. Because, that's the process that gets us to improve. This is part of that process of improvement, identifying the flaws, and then building up on the opportunity to overcome them. That's the process that we engage in whenever we look at technology. What have we used before? What’s one thing we liked about it and didn't like about it? What is out there that provides advantage over that? We ask these questions in order to identify the things that are out there that can provide an advantage. We do our research like everybody else, but we also rely on the network...

WS: …word of mouth…

JM: …word of mouth to try to identify what has worked for others as well.

WS: Fantastic. That makes a lot of sense. From our perspective as vendors, we see that a lot of people face an uphill battle when they go to start a company and look for new technology if they haven't gone down that road before. We often try to find ways to connect people, network with people, and just those conversations — “This is what worked for me, this is what didn’t work for me” — can be very useful.

Was there anything that surprised you in the search process? Is there anything that delighted you or frustrated you? Again, not necessarily with informatics systems, but with trying to build a company from the ground up.

JM: No. Building a company from the ground up is very rewarding and is a lot of fun. There are a lot of challenges, obviously. But — oh, my God — what a great journey! It’s good, it’s very rewarding, and I’m enjoying the opportunity that I have every day.

WS: What's been the impact of having our system in place or other systems in place in terms of going forward with your original vision? Have you found that the execution has been straightforward?

JM: One of the things that I liked was the ease of implementation. It was absolutely very simple and very straightforward. Partially because of the system itself. We talked a little bit about the fact that it works in the cloud. The fact that when you do the demo, you're working with a version that is similar to what you're going to get. That comes across very quickly. It's also something that can be implemented really quickly. Those are the technical aspects.

The other part that was really rewarding was how easy the whole process was, from the people perspective. A lot of business comes down to people, how easy it is to go through the work with the agreements and the paperwork. That was pretty good.

WS: Thank you, that’s great feedback. In terms of our systems, is there anything you'd like to be able to do better or anything in the future you want to be able to accomplish that you can't today?

JM: When we started using the system, we were focused on the compound registration. From that, we have built in the capability of adding information to our compound registration. Then, we started capturing the biological data. The need for processing the biological data for different projects requires a lot of flexibility and could be very complex. For example, some assays are looking just for straightforward inhibition, but some assays are looking for activation and partial agonism — also, you may want to be able to track multiple controls. Therefore, capturing and processing the data sets so you can take information from the reader into the Vault itself and process it by the Vault is good. The team and CDD Vault are very good at actively asking for areas of improvement and rolling out new versions of the Vault that address the suggestions.

What I would like to see going into CDD Vault, in the future, is one section devoted to capturing the in vivo data. I think that we are doing very well with the progress that we have seen. For example, from the chemistry perspective, when capturing the ELN, the laboratory notebooks, I think having a template that allows you to populate PK data for the compounds that you're making in a template fashion — whether it's clearance values, oral bioavailability, or volume of distribution — so that data can be easily imported, would be good.

WS: You’d like to see that “packaged up,” so to speak?

JM: Separately, just like the ELN is. I think that obviously, your focus has been on the main functions, chemistry and biological data. Now, you are focusing on how to put the electronic notebooks from a chemistry perspective and have the template and the dictionary, as you guys call it, your chemical libraries. The molecular weights and densities and all of these things are imported automatically.

People love, by the way, being able to put in pictures like the TLCs into the electronic notebook. All of that is done very easily. Now, if we can move on to how do we capture the DMPK data in a way that is easy for us, regenerating the DMPK data that we get from CROs in their excel spreadsheets. How do we capture that in a way that can be attached to the compound registration?

WS: Okay, fantastic. That's really good. Any other lessons that you'd like to help share with others in terms of your process, your journey?

JM: It’s important to stay open-minded, I guess [laughs]. I'm very goal-oriented and to me, in the beginning, I resisted the electronic notebook because I thought that nothing could be faster or simpler than writing in the notebook that was in front of me in the lab. After I tried the electronic notebook, I learned that compliance was better, sharing data was significantly easier, and your ability to capture information and store information in a way that was useful to the whole team was a lot better. I went from thinking, "This is going to slow me down," to "Oh no, this is actually a must-have."

WS: Other than the research you're doing here, anything in science that is exciting you, that you find interesting? That you're like, "Wow, look at that, that's cool."

JM: Lots of things [laughs]. You know what excites me about science is how it's always evolving. What excites me most today is the prospect of all of the new drugs and technologies that are in the pipeline and their application to personalized medicine. The concept that has been out there for a while, but as multiple treatment options are becoming available more and more, focus is being placed on identifying the patients who could benefit the most from the specific treatments.

For example, we're seeing an increased number of diagnostic kits becoming available to doctors for identifying the enzymes or enzyme-mutations in patients that are likely responsible for their disease and diagnosing the appropriate treatments. Therefore, treating only the patients who are likely to benefit and reducing the number of patients exposed to medications that are not likely to provide a benefit and could be detrimental. We're seeing more and more how personalized medicine is playing out, and that is really exciting!

WS: Thank you for your time, this has been wonderful. I really appreciate it.

JM: Thank you.

A fun bit of trivia: We featured R2M Pharma's Dr. Tien Widjaja in a CDD post when she became our milestone one-millionth user to login to the CDD Vault in April, 2019!

CDD VAULT by Collaborative Drug Discovery is a simple and 100% secure data management platform hosted through an intuitive web interface

CDD Vault helps your project team manage, analyze, and present chemical structures, biological assays, and other scientific data.

edited-mac

CDD VAULT by Collaborative Drug Discovery is a simple and 100% secure data management platform hosted through an intuitive web interface

edited-mac

CDD Vault helps your project team manage, analyze, and present chemical structures, biological assays, and other scientific data.

Scroll To Top